Read This

Read This: The Hunger Games

THGWhile this post should have appeared on this blog about a year ago, I have not been mum on my ecstatic, urgent, constant recommendation of this amazing piece of work by Suzanne Collins. The Hunger Games claimed a special spot in my book loving heart, that nothing since has been worthy of contending against.

While there is an overwhelming amount of dystopian novels filling YA fiction shelves now, believe me when I tell you: pick this one!

Once you open the pages of Katniss Everdeen’s life in District 12 in the ‘country’ of Panem, you won’t be able to put it down. This is story telling at its best, with suspense that will make your heart pound.

Don’t let the buzzing movie trailers ruin the plot for you, but I’ll give you a little synopsis. Each year children of each district in Panem between the ages of 12-18 are entered into a lottery. One male and one female are chosen from each district to compete in an annual Hunger Games. This is similar to some of the current reality television shows we have now (think Survivor or Big Brother) where there is constant surveillance of the contestants brodcasted. What makes this different? The ‘players’ are competing for survival, as they fight to the death there can only be one winner.

This is more than just a gruesome chilling story, but a tale that gives a real eye-opening portrayal of society. It’s a tale with soul that really speaks of loyalty, love, and being true to thine self.

These characters are so lovable, it’s hard for me not to write this entire entry gushing about them. Katniss is the brave independent strong-willed heroine, I’d want to be. She’s tough and sassy and fierce. Peeta Mellark? The boy with the bread. (You’ll understand later.) He is so swoon worthy it’s not even funny. Prim and Rue and Gale and Haymitch and Effie and Cinna. (Ok, I’ll stop.) Oh just you wait! This beautiful world of characters is beckoning you.

THG is the first in a trilogy, so I suggest you to go ahead and start reading as I can’t imagine you not being hooked.

4 thoughts on “Read This: The Hunger Games”

  1. I was a little underwhelmed by The Hunger Games. I loved the concept but I wasn’t crazy about the writing style, and Team Peenniss annoys me to the bones.

    But I was pleasantly surprised by the movie. It’s probably one of the best book-to-screen adaptations I’ve seen. I might even finish the rest of the trilogy now. I stopped reading somewhere after the Katniss/Peeta engagement because I suspected that another Hunger Games participation was imminent and quite frankly I wasn’t up for another “Rue”-like death 😦

    1. Ahh gotcha, well there are definitely more heartbreaking parts like Rue’s death, but I would recommend for you to keep reading 🙂 that’s just my opinion though!

Leave a Comment

