Listen

Listen to This: Bon Iver

For Emma, Forever Ago (Bon Iver) was recorded by Justin Vernon in a cabin in the woods of Wisconsin and released in 2007. I’m stubborn and missed out on his amazing music for a little while because I didn’t pay attention to my friend Theresa’s frequent urgent suggestions that I give it a try. I listen to a pretty varied range of music (as evident from my posts and the pages of my “Listen to This” store,) but there is something different about Bon Iver. I swear he has special hypnotizing abilities, his music calms me like no other. Sometimes, I just lay in my bed, staring at the ceiling listening to this album for hours. There’s a certain kind of clarity those moments bring. A new album has been released since this one, self-titled Bon Iver, but For Emma holds a soft spot it in my heart that can’t be replaced. Your musical life may already be graced by this awesome artist, as his work has spread to a really large audience over the years, and he’s been nominated for multiple Grammy awards for 2012 (read about it here) including: Best New Artist, Song of The Year, Record of The Year, and Alternative Album of the Year. How about that? But I’m telling you if you haven’t listened yet, check it out!

And for your listening pleasure on this lovely Tuesday, here’s one of my favorites:

Leave a Comment

