Maybe Don't Read This

Maybe, *don’t* read this? The Lucky One

Ok, let me start off by saying that I’m not intending to do any book bashing here, I feel a responsibility to be honest after I’ve referred to reading a book, and I wouldn’t recommend it here. If you’re a huge Nicholas Sparks fan, don’t be upset with me. As I mentioned before, I’ve been reading The Lucky One. After seeing the movie trailer online (I like to browse the Apple Quicktime lists,) and then viewing it before The Vow I was intrigued. Perhaps, some of this is due to the fact that Zac Efron is undeniably attractive, so as with many of Nicholas Sparks’s characters – I see this strong, sensitive male and I’m curious about his story. As I felt kind of compelled to see the film, I was like oh hey! I’ll read the book first, (I like to do this.) I was excited to find that the public library had multiple copies in stock. I guess I should admit something else here, too. I have read multiple Nicholas Sparks novels before this title (A Walk to Remember, The Notebook, The Weddingetc.) and I tend to have high expectations that are met by disappoint each time, so I guess I’ve just been setting myself up. Sparks has this formula to his novels, most of the men are these mysterious, brooding types, and the women are reluctant at first to fall for them and then inevitably they do and they’re in love and live happily ever after.

Ok maybe I’m dumbing it down. To be fair, here’s some real background on the story: Logan Thibault, a former marine in his late twenties sets out to walk across the country with his German Shepard Zeus, from Colorado to North Carolina. Why would he do such a thing? All for a girl of course. He doesn’t know exactly who he’s looking for (her name, where she is,) but he found a photograph while he was serving overseas that those around him presumed his lucky charm – some even went as far to say it was a lifesaver. His best friend Victor was probably the most convincing of these facts.

The first chapter of the book really set the tone of my feeling towards it. Page one, sketchy Keith Clayton is introduced. He’s just despicable, and in a kind of unnecessary over the top way. Like I got the point of how I’m supposed to view him as this awful being and feel sorry for anyone being “played” by his actions, but I was immediately bored with story line.

I don’t want to ruin the story if you don’t heed my advice, and end up reading it; even though it might be a predictable story, I wouldn’t want to spoil “surprises” for you. If you like predictable lovey-dovey stories, you won’t be disappointed.

Pretty sure I’m in the minority with my opinion on this one. While at lunch with a group on Sunday, I exclaimed how I just couldn’t get into it, it was moving so slowly, and I really wasn’t enjoying it. But one of the girls was like “really?! I loved it!” There are plenty of comments on the YouTube trailer where readers laughed and cried, but I can’t say that I experienced either of these emotions.

I guess my point of expressing this is so you realize that I don’t fall in love with every book I read, and know that I’m giving a variety of opinion here and not just enthusiastic praise.

I will say, this was an easy read, and I didn’t feel like I wasted that much time by at least finishing what I’d started.  I’m not sure yet how my opinion of the book will affect my decision to see the movie. (I preferred the movie over the book for The Notebook and that rarely happens for me.) If you’re curious here’s the trailer:

1 thought on “Maybe, *don’t* read this? The Lucky One”

Leave a Comment

