Read This, Reading

Read This: Love, Stargirl

As I mentioned before, I finally read Jerry Spinelli’s Stargirl a few weeks ago. One of the lucky parts of being behind in things is that there’s more to catch up on, (which was the case for me in watching Friday Night Lights and Downton Abbey, or reading The Hunger Games trilogy) for a person with highly addictive tendencies, it’s great because I don’t have to be patient! That’s what happened after I read Stargirl, the sequel Love, Stargirl Spinelli penned years later was already waiting for me on the library shelf.

In Love, Stargirl we actually get to see the world from Stargirl Carraway’s perspective – what a treat! A window into the mind and heart of a generous, compassionate, intense girl with the best intentions and the grandest ideas. The story is told in letter form as Stargirl writes to her former boyfriend, (but he really is much more isn’t he?) Leo Burlock. She tells Leo of her new adventures in a small town in Pennsylvania – of course there are many of these (who would expect anything less?) as she befriends an adorable six-year-old Dootsie, an agoraphobic neighbor Betty Lou, and a wild “pip” of an eleven year old girl Alvina. Stargirl whose mother is back to homeschooling, is still writing poetry, and taking “field trips” with her pet rat Cinnamon as a constant companion, and on a quest to fill her happy wagon. Surprises are in store for you as Stargirl learns more about herself, love, and the world around her.

Maybe I’m just a sap but I find that I’ve teared up several times reading Stargirl’s stories. Her zest for life is inspiring and intriguing, and it makes me want to carry around a piece of her outlook wherever I go. Though, I like to think we share some off-beat zany habits, anyway.

So, if you were a fan of Stargirl then I definitely recommend you check out this sequel, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed!

Leave a Comment

