Read This, Reading

Read This: The Name of the Star

As I mentioned earlier, I finally got my hands on a copy of the The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson, from the public library. You see I’ve been excited about this title for quite a while because I love Maureen. I read her tweets all the time, she’s so personable in her internet presence it’s hard not to feel like you know her. When I was walking around NYC on my trip a few weekends ago, I would think of things she’d babbled about in her tweets. Weird – I know. Anyway, this fascination with her awesomeness urges me to read things I wouldn’t necessarily read. Like a book about ghost hunting and gruesome murders! But alas, it also has terrific details of traipsing around London and that indeed just screams my name. I was a little nervous and hesitant because a while back I kind of swore off all my crime shows (I was an avid marathon watcher of all the classics Law and Order SVU, Bones, CSI etc…and the horrors were just taking their toll on me. I’d seen a particularly horrible episode of L&O that made me cry and gave me nightmares, so I decided enough was enough. I basically quit watching most tv in general, until I stumbled upon Downton Abbey and when I had a little marathon of old episodes of How I Met Your Mother during the slow weeks surrounding Christmas holidays at the office. These were different though, since they’re laughter inducing and fascinating in general and don’t produce violent nightmares conjured up from my frightened imagination.) So yeah, as cool as I think she is and as much as I wanted to know all the details of the story I was still nervous it might kind of freak me out. Somehow though, even though it took me about a week to read the story, none of these things happened. No nightmares, no having to put the book down and avoid reading it at night, none of that. The story of Lousiana native Rory Deveaux spending her senior year at a boarding school in London was really fascinating. (Disclaimer: I tend to love stories about kids at boarding school in general.) Readers get to learn all about Rory’s new friends (and enemies) at Wexford and if that weren’t interesting enough there’s a whole different “element” thrown in. I didn’t read too much about the book previous to starting it because I don’t like spoilers, I wanted there to be some surprises left, though I was aware of the basic premise. This is why I’m leaving this pretty vague and basically just urging you to check it out if you haven’t yet. If you’re not a spoiler avoider follow the links, see what readers are saying, read further descriptions etc. but now I understand what all the fuss is about of tweeters and fans wondering when Johnson will continue the story.

6 thoughts on “Read This: The Name of the Star”

  1. Meg, first of all I LOVE boarding school books, as well as How I Met Your Mother. I definitely have to read this. Last fall I got to visit the recording studio and watch a bit of the recording of the audiobook of this! It sounded amazing, but I will read it instead of listen to it. And books and tv totally give me nightmares and afraid to go in the basement, so glad to hear that this one did not have that effect on you. I’m sure I’ll be able to handle it. 🙂

    1. Oh my gosh! That’s amazing you got to sit in on some of the recording. I think that would be SUCH a cool job! How exciting. I hope you like it, which I’m sure you will…HIMYM is a great show, though I’ll admit I’m definitely behind this season. When I think “boarding school books” the first ones that came to mind were Inside the Mind of Gideon Rayburn and Looking for Alaska though I know that’s an oddly general category to put them in.

      1. I don’t know Inside the Mind of Gideon Rayburn-I’ll have to look into it. I just started Paper Covers Rock, which is at a boarding school, but I keep stopping and reading other books I’m enjoying more.

      2. Ohh, I don’t know how that one slipped my mind because I read it recently too! Yeah, I found it to be a bit slow but I was curious enough to finish it.

Leave a Comment

