Watch This

Watch This: The Perks of Being a Wallflower trailer

Good morning everyone! Alas, Monday has greeted us again. I guess I should say I’m glad I made it to this one, since last night my ceiling fan decided to start hanging by a cord in my bedroom. Over my bed. Of course my over active imagination could only picture it falling off completely, in the middle of the night, directly on my bed, crushing my legs. To my delight – this did not happen. But it is definitely a Monday as I didn’t put in my contacts this morning, and forgot to wear my glasses. Le sigh. So! I can tell you that I’ve been reading Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley, (which I’ll be sure to tell you about when I’m finished) and listening to John Mayer’s new album Born and Raised. Pretty sure when the time feels right, they’ll be posts to come on these. Last night I watched the Royal coverage of Kate and Harry on CNN, instead of the MTV Movie Awards, but my friend Lauren texted me and I knew I needed to hunt down this trailer! They’ve only been talking about it on the internet for years, and now the trailer has officially been released. Lauren and I made a virtual pinky promise pact not to watch anymore trailers after this, but I have to say I was pretty pleased. (There were a lot of “p” words in that sentence, yay for alliteration.) It seems like they got the old school 90s feel of the movie right, and I teared up when Charlie said “we accept the love we think we deserve.” Also, when they showed the scene with Sam standing up in the bed of the truck in the tunnel, and Charlie’s famous “infinite” quote, it was just how I had imagined it. The Perks of Being a Wallflower is one of my favorite books (I can’t tell you how many times I’ve read it or loaned out my copy or given it as a gift,) and I’ve definitely been anxious about the transition to the big screen. What do you think? If you haven’t seen it yet, check it out here:

3 thoughts on “Watch This: The Perks of Being a Wallflower trailer”

  1. I love love loved Perks when it came out and have read it a few times, but not for many years. Honestly, just now I watched the trailer and I couldn’t remember anything! I will definitely see it though. And I immediately loved it that the solid color screens were the same color as the cover of the book. And I loved recognizable Pittsburgh (I lived there for a year and loved it.) Also, one time I met Stephen Chbosky and I nearly swooned. Embarrassing.
    and on a side note, had I know there was royal coverage on CNN I totally would have watched it. I feel totally slighted by the jubilee coverage-I’ve seen practically nothing!

    1. Ah, you should definitely re-read before the film comes out in September! I loved the solid color screens too, how clever of them 😉 I’ve never been to Pittsburgh but I’ll take your word for it. That’s awesome that you met Chbosky! Seriously. I don’t even know if I could gather any articulated sentences if that happened to me. As for the CNN coverage (or the Jubilee coverage in general,) I have a feeling you can probably find some of it online somewhere! It keeps playing at such inconvenient times on tv. I’m also guessing that they’ll probably put together some kind of DVD after it’s all over and can be compiled together. Well, hopefully!

Leave a Comment

