Read This, Reading

Read This: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)

Now, this is a title I’ve wanted to read for a while. I finally realized hello, why have I not put it on hold at the library yet? Last week I went to pick up a biography of the Queen I’d put on hold, and to my surprise Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? was also waiting for me! (Along with Ellen’s Seriously…I’m Kidding.) Eeek! It always feels like Christmas when that happens. I brought it with me to the beach last weekend, and started it on Friday night and finished by Saturday night. Granted it was rainy and that always makes for easier weekend reading time, but also I couldn’t put it down. Mindy had me giggling aloud. The book flows in an easy-to-read style, broken down into essay chapters. The sections chronicle Mindy’s life, from childhood, to her early years in the city, and then to her time working on The Office. She’s included family photos, Blackberry photos, shots from on the set, and pics with her best friends (these are all an awesome addition in my opinion.) There’s a bit of a understated wit in the writing of The Office. While you’ve probably caught it, some people just don’t get it…there are the obvious jokes, and then the sly dry humor that’s hiding off on the side sometimes. This book reminds me of that in a way. Mindy is extremely intelligent, witty, and thoughtful. I loved getting to know more about her life, and from what I could gather she seemed like she was giving us a real look – not just of the glam parties and events, but the nerve-wracking meetings, the nights you spend in sweats watching syndicated television until someone invites you out. It was cool and encouraging. After following Mindy’s tweets for a while, I already wanted to be friends with her but after reading this book that feeling just intensified (if that’s possible?!) If you haven’t read this one yet, I definitely recommend checking it out. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed! Have you already this one? What were your thoughts? Feel free to share in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Read This: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)”

  1. I liked this book a lot too and also wish Mindy could be my friend. She’s hilarious on Twitter and you know what I really liked about the book? How much she likes her family and even though she’s famous, she definitely seems like a hard working sincere person. I thought she had some very empowering messages for girls, too!

    1. It’s so great that you mentioned how much she geninuely enjoys/appreciates her family. I thought about that the minute I clicked publish because I really liked that about it too. I agree with you on Mindy seeming extremely hard working and sincere too. I also love how she described Steve Carell because that wasn’t necessarily what I would have expected. Great message for girls and about setting goals and putting in the honest effort it takes to achieve them!

Leave a Comment

