Listen

Listen to This: Mixtape

Good morning everyone, I hope you’re having a wonderful Wednesday but more importantly…happy summer solstice! Today marks the official start of summer (and the longest day of the year!) I don’t like to rush things, but boy am I glad it’s here. (Though, I guess living in Florida it’s felt like summer for the past two months, at least.)  I wanted to share a song today that makes me think of summer, and even though it’s a throw back – I think this is a great one. Brand New’s “Mixtape” from their first album, Your Favorite Weapon is an old favorite of mine. It’s made it on many of the mixtapes I’ve made. Yeah sure, it’s got a bit of an angry sound, and the lyrics have a certain edge, full of all that angst that comes in teenage years but there’s also something perfect about the song. If you haven’t heard it yet, or it’s also an old favorite of yours, have a listen!

(The image pictured is from the tenth anniversary album release, which included some demo versions of songs and they finally released the album on vinyl!)

“Somewhat golden like the afternoons we used to spend, before you got to cool…”

Leave a Comment

