Watch This

Watch This: Beasts of the Southern Wild

 

Alright, not to be a buzz kill since this is sort of becoming a habit, but again I want to share with you something that’s on my must eventually watch this list, as opposed to my watched this, loved it, now I’m telling you to go see this list!

Yesterday was kind of long and rough, though I kept giving myself little start over points where I’d be like, “ok Meghan, NOW from here on out…Wednesday will be wonderful.” Well, unfortunately Wednesday was really lacking in the wonderful category. I can laugh off mean customers for most of the day, but by the end of it, I was so frustrated and on the verge of tears I just needed a breather. My heart rate was already up to high on its own, so I postponed my running and went to a happy place (which is like three minutes from my house.) I wandered through the stacks of Books a Million, not really intending on making purchases but rather basking in the cool air conditioning, the calm of the non-crowded aisles, and the peace that I get from being surrounded by hundreds of books. Yeah, I sound like a nutcase, but I’m okay with that for today. Anyway, on my short little ride to the house from the store I heard the beginning of a segment on NPR talking about this new movie that will be released TOMORROW called Beasts of the Southern Wild. Immediately I started taking notes on the little pad on my phone. The director (Benh Zeitlin) is only 29 years old! The little girl’s name is Hushpuppy! The town is called Bathtub! Lousiana! Southern style accents! My oh my, roped me in right away. The film has already won several awards, including the Grand Jury prize at Sundance. Last night before bed, I saw Relevant Magazine had tweeted a link to this article Beauty in the Beasts, which features an interview with Zeitlin. Now that I’ve seen the articles, and can match a face (an adorable one at that, Quvenzhane Wallis was only six when they were filming) to the already loveable Hushpuppy. This is the first line I heard her speak, in the segment and I was just already enamored with the film:

“The water’s gonna rise up so high, ain’t gonna be no Bathtub,” she says, “just a whole buncha water.”

Since I haven’t seen it yet myself, and can’t give you a personal account of the plot here’s what IMDB has listed for the storyline:

Hushpuppy, an intrepid six-year-old girl, lives with her father, Wink, in “the Bathtub,” a southern Delta community at the edge of the world. Wink’s tough love prepares her for the unraveling of the universe; for a time when he’s no longer there to protect her. When Wink contracts a mysterious illness, nature flies out of whack-temperatures rise, and the ice caps melt, unleashing an army of prehistoric creatures called aurochs. With the waters rising, the aurochs coming, and Wink’s health fading, Hushpuppy goes in search of her lost mother.

You can check out the official trailer above. While there aren’t any showings coming up in Florida on this list, yet I’m hoping that I get a chance to see the film this summer! If you’re one of the lucky ones in an area where it’s playing, and you take advantage of the opportunity – let me know what you think, I’d love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “Watch This: Beasts of the Southern Wild”

  1. Magnificent goods from you, man. I have bear in mind your stuff previous to and you are just too magnificent. I really like what you have bought here, really like what you are saying and the way during which you are saying it. You make it entertaining and you continue to take care of to keep it sensible. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is actually a tremendous web site.

Leave a Comment

