Listen

Listen to This: Throwback Thursday, “Have You Ever Seen the Rain?”

Hey y’all I know it’s been a whole week since you’ve heard from me, (you missed me right?!) I got a little frustrated when wordpress crashed one me and deleted my most recent entries I was working on for you, so I took a mini-break. I hope you all had a fantastic fourth of July yesterday, (for my followers in America.) Today I did a Throwback Thursday post on my Mug’s Life blog, and it’s only fitting that the song I wanted to feature today is also a throwback.

So, I’ve had this song stuck in my head since yesterday afternoon, and low and behold it was playing on the radio when I went to file some tickets in the back room at work this morning!

Creedence Clearwater Revival (CCR)’s “Have You Ever Seen the Rain?” off the album Pendulum is definitely one of my favorite songs of all time. I don’t think this legendary band needs much of an explanation, but if you’re not familiar with them here’s a little bit of lowdown on their history. The band’s (featuring members John and Tom Fogerty, Stu Cook and Doug Clifford) height of success was around the late sixties early seventies. According to Wikipedia the name came from:

The band took the three elements from, first, Tom Fogerty’s friend Credence Newball, (to whose first name Credence they added an extra ‘e’, making it resemble a faith or creed); second, “clear water” from a TV commercial for Olympia beer; and finally “revival”, which spoke to the four members’ renewed commitment to their band.

Some of their other classic songs include “Fortunate Son,” “Bad Moon Rising,” “Down on the Corner,” “Proud Mary,” and “Who’ll Stop the Rain?”

Here’s a fan video from YouTube so you can check out “Have You Ever Seen the Rain?”

2 thoughts on “Listen to This: Throwback Thursday, “Have You Ever Seen the Rain?””

Leave a Comment

