Read This, Reading

Read This: “MWF Seeking BFF: My Year Long Search for a New Best Friend”

I think I have a book crush. If you keep up with my rambles,  (here or on Mugs Life and Twitter) you probably noticed my incessant mentions of Rachel Bertsche’s MWF Seeking BFF.

I’m still in the middle of reading this wonderful book MWF Seeking BFF: My Yearlong Search for a New Best Friend (look the paperback costs less than the Kindle version – love when that happens!) Though I suspect I’ll probably be finished by tonight because it’s just that good. I originally found out about it on Hello Giggles when I read this awesome article by Sarah Heyward, who actually went to school with the author Rachel Bertsche. Bertsche is awesome, and I would love to go on a friend-date with her (though I don’t really meet the requirements seeing as I would just add to the list of friends a plan ride away.) Heyward always contributes really clever articles to HG, and it feels like we share a lot of the same brain because we obsess over the same tidbits of pop culture. Plus! She writes for HBO’s Girls – extra awesome points, duh!

Her website provides this synopsis that gives you a perfect idea of the book without spoiling any of the hilarious and thought-provoking experiences of her friend dating:

When Rachel Bertsche first moves to Chicago, she’s thrilled to finally share a zip code, let alone an apartment, with her boyfriend. But shortly after getting married, Bertsche realizes that her new life is missing one thing: friends. Sure, she has plenty of BFFs—in New York and San Francisco and Boston and Washington, D.C. Still, in her adopted hometown, there’s no one to call at the last minute for girl talk over brunch or a reality-TV marathon over a bottle of wine. Taking matters into her own hands, Bertsche develops a plan: She’ll go on fifty-two friend-dates, one per week for a year, in hopes of meeting her new Best Friend Forever.

I tried to drag it out, savoring chapters because I loved the friend finding journey she was on. I took the book to the bathtub and work and carried it in my purse everywhere, enjoying it and wanting to know how the year ended up but not wanting to be done. It’s been a few weeks since I finished, and I’m still thinking about the book on a regular basis. If I had known research could be that cool, I definitely would have felt more inspired by communication studies when I was in school. (I loved my major, but wasn’t very keen on research projects.) Bertsche has all these mentions about psychology and sociology and different studies that were done on friendship characteristics and such.

If you think about it, we’re all kind of friend dating on a regular basis anyways and they really do operate like the romantic kind. She met so many people, and had a constant schedule of activity going on during that year – I think the process would be exciting but exhausting. It’s pretty impressive that she kept up with it so well, determined and not letting the bad ones make the whole experience sour. Also, on a side note – her adventures made me even more intrigued by the city of Chicago. I already wanted to go, but it added to that intense curiosity and probably more so solidified it’s spot on my places to visit list.

I know my vagueness might not have drawn you in, but honestly I couldn’t stop talking about this book! I laughed so much, I even teared up. Plus, it’s Bertsche has such a refreshing voice, and I enjoyed how it was unlike anything else I’d read, a memoir of sorts. I don’t know what took me so long to finally pick it up, but I was so so glad once I did. If you’ve eyed it but haven’t read it yet, I highly recommend doing so ASAP. Also, she has some cool book suggestions in the back, and I know I’ll be reading some of those soon as well (like The Happiness Project.) Did you read it already? What were your thoughts? Leave a comment – we can discuss!

1 thought on “Read This: “MWF Seeking BFF: My Year Long Search for a New Best Friend””

Leave a Comment

