Listen, Watch This

Throwback Thursday: Double Dose Listen & Watch

Hi everybody! Ok, ok I know I’ve been a little absent once again but today it’s Throwback Thursday and I’ve got a treat for you – a double dose of listen and watch this! As you know, I’ve been on a massive Dawson’s Creek marathon kick lately. It makes me laugh and cry in just the right moments. (Hey! it’s good to be in touch with your emotions, ok?) Plus, it keeps me company when the house is quiet and I’m baking up a storm in the kitchen. Anyway, today I was thinking of what song I wanted to share with you and this is what popped into my head. My roommate Mandy of sophomore and junior of college can attest to you that I played this song an unreasonable amount of times. It’s one of my go-to perk up tunes ok?! I mention DC because there’s are some scenes in an episode from season three where this song (and an awesome film!) Are in the background. Joey (Katie Holmes) is poking fun and asking Dawson (James Van Der Beek) and Pacey (Joshua Jackson) whether anyone really actually dances in their kitchen. Of course, lo and behold because Kevin Williamson and Paul Stupin are awesome – by the end of the episode there’s a dance party and breakfast cooking session happening in the Potter B&B.

Have you guessed what I’m referring to yet? (Or did you sneak a peak further into the entry?) Ta-da! The Temptations “Ain’t Too Proud to Beg” and The Big Chill!

Pure movie magic if you ask me. The whole soundtrack is amazing (and the deluxe version is even better!) The movie is a staple classic. It’s like thirty-something. (Yeah, ok I identify with that person in the YouTube comments who watched this at a young age.) My parents have awesome taste, and I was a weird kid alright? I own this on DVD because my mom knew I needed it in my collection, and we watch it together once in a while. If you’ve never seen the movie, it’s about a group of old college friends who have reunited at the funeral of Alex who was in the tight-knit crew. It’s very dialogue driven, as they reminisce over the way things once were, who they thought they’d become,  how they got to where they are now.

Here’s a clip from the awesome scene I mentioned earlier:

If you’ve never seen this movie, or you’re not familiar with this song – go check them out now! And if you are, happy Throwback Thursday – enjoy some of the best!

1 thought on “Throwback Thursday: Double Dose Listen & Watch”

Leave a Comment

