Throwback Thursday, Watch This

Throwback Thursday, Watch This: Garden State

Alright, alright I know I’ve been failing y’all on providing Throwback Thursday recommendations lately, but today I’m bringing you a really good one. In fact, I can tell you this is one of my favorites. The other night my roommate (well, further back then the other night since my roommate has been gone since mid August, but anyways) we were flipping through the channels, and we landed on Garden State. I got super excited, and she couldn’t remember the last time she’d watched it. She asked me which part we were watching, (Sam (Natalie Portman) and Largeman (Zach Braff) are in her backyard, having a ceremony of sorts…I’m being vague on purpose as to produce as few spoilers as possible guys.) Then she asked something else, and literally I realized I could tell her entire scenes, dialogue and everything. This movie is just that good. “I can’t tap dance, wanna see me tap dance?” Tons of amazing lines. Amazing music. (“You gotta hear this one song. It’ll change your life,  I swear.”) Awesome cinematography. Quirky, funny, tear-jerking. Just, flawless.

Ok, I don’t normally cop out like this, but I am going to give y’all Amazon’s product description, in case you don’t clink on any of the links. The way this movie is I feel like I’d have a hard time describing it without giving things away that I’d much rather you discover on your own!

Writer/Director Zach Braff delivers “an Oscar®-worthy performance” (CBS-TV Chicago) opposite a “wacky and endearing” (Newsweek) Natalie Portman in this quirky, coming-of-age comedy. Twentysomething, emotionally detached Andrew “Large” Largeman (Braff) hasn’t been home to New Jersey in nine years. Now, as Large attempts to re-connect with a variety of odd acquaintances – including his father – he decides to risk getting high on the most potent and unpredictable drug there is…life! Co-starring Peter Sarsgaard, Ian Holm and Method Man, Garden State is “marvelous fun” (Rolling Stone)

So there you have it. Are you convinced? This is a classic favorite of mine. When I was in high school, anytime someone came over who hadn’t seen it, I wanted so badly to share it with them. I remember sitting cross-legged on my bedroom floor in my parent’s house, mesmerized by this film. It didn’t matter if a boy I liked was sitting next to me, it was not one of those “pretend you’re concentrating on the movie” movies, it was an – I am actually watching this movie, and I hope you are too so we can talk about it after – movies. I can’t even tell you the number of times I’ve seen this movie. I had a copy at my parent’s house, and a copy of my own when I left for college.

Anyways, if you haven’t watched this wonderful film yet I hope I’ve convinced you. You can watch the trailer here:

5 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday, Watch This: Garden State”

  1. This movie is my ‘I’m feeling sad and want to feel better movie’ I don’t why, it just is haha 🙂

  2. Skype has launched its web-based client beta towards
    the entire world, soon after introducing it broadly in the
    Usa and U.K. before this four weeks. Skype for Online also now can handle Chromebook and Linux for instant text messaging
    communication (no voice and video however, all those require
    a plug-in set up).

    The increase in the beta contributes assistance for an extended
    set of languages to help strengthen that overseas functionality

Leave a Comment

