Throwback Thursday, Watch This

Throwback Thursday – Watch This: “Now and Then”

Now and Then has always felt like a classic movie to me. I bring it up in conversation all the time. Anytime I pass a drainage ditch when it’s raining, it immediately comes to mind. If I hear “Candy Girl” I want to be riding bikes with a group of girlfriends bopping along. This movie is a throwback from the great year of 1995, (though it’s set further back in the 1970s) and features a splendid cast (old-er and young. – see below.)

(From left to right: Gabby Hoffman, Demi Moore, Thora Birch, Melanie Griffith, Ashleigh Aston Moore, Rita Wilson, Christina Ricci, Rosie O’Donnel.)

That photo isn’t even including young, adorable Devon Sawa or the great “Crazy Pete!” This movie spans one youthful summer (“the summer that everything changed”) of these four best friends and covers everything from first kisses, puberty, parent’s divorce – all the messy great stuff that marks the crazy moments of growing up. We’re reminded me of the days of sleepovers, wearing ourselves out playing outside all day, and the importance of our friendships. There’s a little bit of mystery thrown in too. And maybe it’s because I’m kind of a baby, but the “spooky” parts always make me jump (Dear Johnny!) Plus, we get to see the friends reunited later in life, as they gather for a special event. Did I mention that the soundtrack is just awesome?! *Fun fact for Pretty Little Liars fans, I. Marlene King wrote this!* I remember several girl’s nights spent watching this great movie. If you haven’t seen it yet, I definitely recommend checking it out – maybe if you have a good rainy movie day soon? Is this an old favorite of anyone else?

You can watch the trailer here:

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday – Watch This: “Now and Then””

  1. This is my favorite movie. My friends and I have been watching it together for the better part of two decades, and somehow, it doesn’t get old ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for giving me this start to the morning!

    1. Oh my goodness, what a fun friend tradition – I love it! And you’re welcome ๐Ÿ™‚ glad it helped give you a good start. I hope the rest of your day is great!

Leave a Comment

