Read This

Read This: “Burn for Burn”

If you can’t tell yet, I’ve been reading a different book everyday this week thus the ability to have so many new “Read This” posts, also I obviously have a lot of time on my hands right now. Burn for Burn is actually the first young-adult fiction novel I’ve read since July! That must be some kind of record for me, y’all know my obsession. I pre-ordered the book at the same time as I ordered Cupcakes and Cashmere, and Off Balance. While I absolutely love Jenny Han and am basically addicted to any project she has a part in, and am completely enthralled and envious of the best-friend writing team she and Siobhan Vivian utilized for this novel…I was doing my best to try and save it. I knew as soon as I started that I wouldn’t be able to put the book down, that I’d be completely engrossed in the story and sad when it ended. I’m aware this is the first in what will be a trilogy, so after reading it in one day I’m hungry for the rest of the story!

You can stay updated on Burn for Burn news on its tumblr page!

I’m a big fan of novels that tell stories from alternating perspectives. Burn for Burn does just this, readers get insight from tough-girl Kat, a semi-Queen Bee Lillia (second to her “best friend” Rennie,) and an old local turned new girl with a mysterious past Mary. Jar Island is home to a pretty little beach town, only accessible by ferry and a high school though small, filled with a lot of drama and fierce attitude. Though, readers should know now that this is not your typical “mean girls” story. Everyone has their own secrets, and reasons for wanting to seek revenge on the meanest of the mean. Once upon a time, Kat Lillia and Rennie were all best friends. That was before they entered ninth grade, and before Lillia’s family became permanent residents of Jar Island moving into what used to be their summer house. Rennie and Lillia become cheerleaders, their closest guy friends are the stars of the football team. They make up the typical popular crowd in a high school. Lillia and Alex have always been close, but family definitely trumps friendship in Lillia’s life. Rennie has made up rumors about Kat and her family for years, putting her down in public, insulting her for things that basically mirror a lot of the circumstance in her own life. Mary has a dark past, someone in this school made growing up awful for her, was the reason her family left the island in the first place. They all have reasons for wanting to get back at the people who’ve hurt them. While it starts out as just trying to ease their own pain, and feel some sort of satisfaction that the people who sought havoc on their lives hit some bumps in the road of their own, can it ever be that simple? This story takes some unexpected turns. While we learn about the narrators past, I am sure that the characters who’ve hurt them, have some secrets of their own. This novel is full of all the good stuff, a mix of teenage love, drama, suspense, surprise. I definitely recommend it and if you’ve read it would love to hear your thoughts! I can’t wait til the second installation of the trilogy is released!

4 thoughts on “Read This: “Burn for Burn””

  1. I’m envious that you’ve read a book a day this week – way to go! I have this book out from the library right now and your review has me even more excited to read it. Sounds like there’s lots of drama in this one! Awesome review.

    1. Thank you! I’m excited for you to get to read it 🙂 Definitely drama filled, but not in an annoying way. I simply love anything written by Jenny Han! Have you read her “summer’ trilogy?

      1. I adore the Summer series too 🙂 If I can’t have more of that series then Burn for Burn will have to do! Sounds great though.

Leave a Comment

