Throwback Thursday, Watch This

Throwback Thursday,Watch This: Thanksgiving Themed

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! In leiu of a traditional, what I’m thankful for post (already got that covered on Mug’s Life) I’ve got some Throwback Thursday movies for you, in the realm of holiday spirit…

First, I’ve got Katie Holmes (yeah, with pink hair!) in Pieces of April. Sure it’s pretty unconventional and hey maybe you won’t love it? It’s been a while since I’ve watched this one but it did make me laugh. I remember my Dad’s friend, Hope recommending it to us a few years back and watching it with my parents. I loved the reality of it. When art can convey the chaos of real life in a believable way? I really enjoy that. If you read the reviews you might notice a trend…some people were pretty weary about it even a good deal in, but seriously just don’t turn it off. You’ll most likely end up liking it by the end! April who lives with her boyfriend Bobby in New York, doesn’t have the best relationship with her family. Her mom’s sick, and at an attempt to kind of smooth things over a bit she’s invited the family for Thanksgiving dinner. Of course, this is chaotic. It’s painful, and realistic, but it tugged on my heart strings in just the right way.

 

Another holiday related one is The Family Stone. This isn’t your typical film either. If you’re thinking oh there’s SJP it’s probably a predictable rom-com, think again. If you can’t tell from that photo, the whole cast is awesome. Boy brings his girlfriend home for the holidays, who he’s hoping to propose to. Turns out his family isn’t too keen on her. Obviously this results in what else? – turmoil and chaos. Seriously enjoyed this one. Just typing up this entry puts me in the mood to watch it again.

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday,Watch This: Thanksgiving Themed”

  1. Happy Thanksgiving! I liked Pieces of April when I saw it in the theaters, it’s so quirky. I should check it out again to see how it holds up. Haven’t seen The Family Stone but it does sound like a good one! Thanks for the recs 🙂

    1. Thank you, Lucy! 🙂 I hope you had a lovely Thanksgiving. I really feel like watching The Family Stone too, now that I posted about it. My dad said Pieces of April was on TV the other night (I missed it.) Hopefully you catch it soon 🙂 glad you enjoyed the post!

Leave a Comment

