Read This

Read This: “Everyday”

I went to the library last week, (I know my to-read list is outrageously long, but I had to pay a fine and couldn’t resist a quick browse) and to my surprise David Levithan’s Everyday was siting on the shelf, just waiting for me! I’d seen John Green tweet about and the basic premise of the story fascinated me. As soon as I finished Off Balance I started in on this new YA novel. David Levithan co-wrote other books I really enjoyed like Dash and Lilly’s Book of Dares, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist (both with Rachel Cohn) and Will Grayson, Will Grayson (with John Green.)

Everyday is the story of a “person” (using this term lightly) who since the day he (using lightly too) was born, wakes up in the body of a different person every morning. The narrator calls himself A. He does his best not to interrupt the life of the person he’s embodying each day. Whether that means, doing chores or homework, participating in sporting events, keeping track of the diet of a diabetic, appeasing a boyfriend…whatever it takes. That was until he found himself in the body of a teenage boy named Justin. Justin doesn’t treat his girlfriend Rhiannon very well, and A just can’t go along with that. He basically has one of the best days of his existence while in Justin’s body, on his sweet day with Rhiannon. After that, no matter who’s body he wakes up in Rhiannon is the first person he thinks of. A has the ability to compartmentalize, so even though he can access the memories of the person’s body he’s in, he can keep track of his own past. He has an email account he emails himself important things he’d like to remember. Yeah, this existence is as bizarre as it sounds. His main goal each day ends up being to try and make his way to Rhiannon, but how long can that go on for? He may be in love with her, but can she fall in love with someone who lives inside a different person each day? There are other things to worry about, too. What if he messes up things, (think The Butterfly Effect.) Is A the only one out there with this ability? So many questions, so few answers.

I’ve already given away more of the story than I normally would, but the concept is just fascinating! As soon as I finished, (much like after I watched The Perks of Being a Wallflower) I just wanted to converse with someone about it. Have you read Everyday yet? Thoughts? Opinions? Share with me in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Read This: “Everyday””

    1. I do too, it gives my brain a challenge to try and wrap my head around the new ideas. I had about as many questions as the narrator, haha. Let me know what you think if you read it soon 🙂 (You could get it on your new Kindle! Just saw that post – how fun!)

Leave a Comment

