Listen, Throwback Thursday

Throwback Thursday, Listen to This: “Go Ahead”

Good Afternoon, everyone! (Well, everyone on the east coast that is.) I know I’ve been slacking on the posts this week, and for that I apologize. Things were a little busy at work, and then I got caught up in snail mail and reading when I had some down town, so I neglected Meg Says a little this week. This morning I was all excited to type up a Throwback Thursday post, but unfortunately our internet was down. This made the first six hours of the work day extremely slow, and undproductive. Anyway, now it’s up! So, I can share with you a song that I just can’t get enough of lately. “Go Ahead” by Rilo Kiley, from the album Takeoffs and Landings. I’ve been a long time time of Jenny Lewis, and I just love her vocals in this band. They have so many great songs if you’re unfamiliar with their music. (I’m willing to bet you’re familiar with “Portions for Foxes.”) This album was actually released in 2003! Like seriously, how was already almost ten years ago?! After Rilo Kiley split, Jenny Lewis went on to do some solo stuff, and it’s quite fabulous as well. My friend Erin sent me a mixed CD for my birthday, cleverly titled “The Finally Mix” and let me tell you, you’re going to be hearing about more songs from it because they’re all awesome. “Go Ahead” is just one of the great songs she put on the mix. I have to admit, I didn’t know about this gem before, and now I just adore it. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve listened to it in the last week, (it’s been that many already!) I can tell you what my favorite lyrics are from the song, though:

“if you want to have your cake and eat it too
and if you want to have other people watch you while you eat it
go ahead”

1 thought on “Throwback Thursday, Listen to This: “Go Ahead””

Leave a Comment

