Watch This

Watch This: To Grandmother’s House We Go

Happy Friday everyone! I for one am in that dazed ‘I don’t really feel like it’s Friday zone,’ but indeed it is. I figured I’ve shared plenty of music lately and I’m not finished reading The Age of Miracles yet to give you a report on that, so why not share an oldie but a goody from the movie world? Now some of you might own this on VHS, or begged your parents to record it for you back in the day. Believe it or not…this movie is twenty years old! Yep, that’s right. Somehow, that happened. It features two of my favorite blonde twinsies. No what I’m talking about? To Grandmother’s House We Go! With none other than Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen! IMDB gives you this quick description, which basically summarizes plenty of kid movies:

“When the twins feel like their mom is tired of them, they take off on an exciting adventure to grandmother’s house and encounter a pair of villains along the way.”

You know, the funny thing is I was just thinking about this movie last week when we played Powerball. (If you’ve seen it, you’ll know why…maybe.) I can’t even tell you the last time I watched it, but earlier this week an old friend from home had posted about it on Facebook. Jen happens to love this throwback too. (Funny we have plenty of random stuff in common like that, and our birthdays are a day apart. I think you always remember the people who had birthdays right by yours from elementary school…)

Anyway, if you’re not familiar with this holiday family-friendly film and you wanna check it out, somebody actually uploaded the whole thing on YouTube! Which was nice of them since movie rental stores are basically extinct, and new ones aren’t even for sale on Amazon. ($35 VHS what! An antique right there…) I figured you probably have some time on your hands taking care of some holiday things around the house – maybe writing some cards, wrapping, baking, decorating, or you know just avoiding all of that in general and your curious about what the heck I’m talking about…(I tried to find a trailer, but I think someone would have to sit in front of their TV, taping it on their phone or camera while the VHS played…)


PS: Revisiting this classic has reminded me of some of my other childhood-loved cheesy Christmas movies, mostly played on TV. Be on the lookout we’re only in the first week of December. I’ll be sure to share more soon!

1 thought on “Watch This: To Grandmother’s House We Go”

Leave a Comment

