Listen

Listen to This: “Maybe This Christmas” Vol. I

Okay, at this point this album probably isn’t anything new to you but I figured it’d be a shame if I let Christmas come and go without sharing another of my favorites with you. Maybe This Christmas is one of the best Christmas mixes I know, and by now there are two other compilations that follow! I don’t know why you can’t purchase it from Amazon new right now, it’s not on Spotify and my Google searches just come up with the third album? But some nice Youtuber has made this lovely little playlist, so if you don’t know what I’m going on about check it out! You know I specifically remember when I first got this CD, sitting on the couch in my parent’s living room. I was already obsessed with Phantom Planet (hello, The OC theme song!) Jimmy Eat World, Coldplay, Jack Johnson and Ben Folds. Plus my friend made me listen to endless hours of Neil Finn, so that was familiar to my ears as well. I also thought Paul Frank was such an awesome company and that Julius was adorable, so I loved the album art even though I didn’t own any PF items (just browsed them in the glass display case at Pac Sun.) Nerd alert: I made the album cover my LiveJournal background image. Yeahhh, true story.

 

Check out this sweet track listing! I mean really? It’s pretty fabulous. I highly recommend jamming out to the Pandora “Maybe This Christmas” station. Just go check it out if you don’t believe me. (And no, I’m not one of those people who starts listening to Christmas music in July. I like to celebrate my holidays individually as they arrive. Plus, skipping Thanksgiving is like skipping my birthday okay?!)

 

1. Winter Wonderland – Phantom Planet
2. Maybe This Christmas – Ron Sexsmith
3. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas – Coldplay
4. Green Sleeves – Vanessa Carlton
5. Blue Christmas – Bright Eyes
6. Happy Christmas (War IS Over) – Sense Field
7. 12/23/95 – Jimmy Eat World
8. Rudolph – Jack Johnson
9. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen – Barenaked Ladies with Sarah McLachlan
10. Bizarre Christmas Incident – Ben Folds
11. What a Year for a New Year – Dan Wilson
12. Sweet Secret – Neil Finn
13. Snow – Loreena McKennitt

 

1 thought on “Listen to This: “Maybe This Christmas” Vol. I”

Leave a Comment

