Watch This

Watch This: Lovers In a Dangerous Time

You know those nights when there’s nothing on tv, and you could read a book but you really just want to snuggle on the couch and get lost in a movie? Yeah, I was having one of those evenings home a lone at the beginning of January so I found myself browsing the Netflix Instant-Watch list. I came across this Canadian film, Lovers In a Dangerous Time. (Can I just interrupt myself here, and point out how odd the Netflix descriptions of movies are?!) Here’s what they had to say:

“In this warmhearted drama, Todd and Allison — childhood best friends who have both become disillusioned with their lives — try to recapture the magic of youth after unexpectedly reconnecting at their 10-year high school reunion.”

So, I don’t know what to tell you to expect about this film, how about don’t expect anything? Just go into it with an open mind, and see how it plays out. What I loved about this movie, was the simplicity. There aren’t these unbelievably romantic moments, or outlandish story arcs – it’s just kind of unfolding, in the roller coaster way life does. Sometimes, we get our hopes up. Sometimes we get let down. Sometimes, we’re surprised at the turn of events on an ordinary day. I really loved the interaction between Allison and Todd (and Todd and his brother Bobby) – a blatantly honest portrayal, and completely believable. Also, the music was incredible. I had to resist busting out the Shazaam app every time a new song started! You can actually listen to the music on the official website. The scenery was gorgeous as well. Apparently I have a thing for Canada lately…(Take This Waltz, Lovers In a Dangerous Time, The High Cost Of Living reading Bieber’s mom’s memoir) so if you notice a trend on my reading and watching lists, that’s what’s up. I love that this film was written and directed by the two main actors – Mark Hug (Todd Timmins) and May Charters (Allison Adamson), too – I feel like it added to the depth of the film, and I loved their chemistry together.

It’s been a few weeks, and I’m still thinking about this film. If you know of any other movies that are similar feel free to share. Also, I was surprised there were only a few posts on the IMDB message boards about it, and I didn’t get any replies to my Facebook and Twitter inquiries as to whether anyone I know has seen it? Have you already watched this movie? What did you think? If not, do yourself a favor and check it out!

2 thoughts on “Watch This: Lovers In a Dangerous Time”

  1. I loved this movie so much!!! Like you I loved the simplicity of the storyline no over the top romance, a great sibling rivalry, and depicted how life in a small town can. It was filmed in the beautiful, picturesque Creston Valley and May and Mark used locals and their friends to be cast in it. The high school reunion scene was real as their was a 10 year going on at the time. I’m pleased to call this talented duo my friends and they were kind enough to cast my husband and I as extras in this coming of age, remarkable film.

Leave a Comment

