Watch This

Watch This: “Looper”

Happy Friday, everyone! Finally right? Okay, maybe that’s just me but either way the weekend is upon us. Here in North Florida, we’ve got a cold front coming through. I don’t know what’s on my weekend agenda, but I’ll be probably be spending some time out doors. Wait for the sun to get a little closer to rising in the morning, and go for a long run. If you’re feeling like cozying up at some point this weekend, maybe settling down for a movie then I’ve got a suggestion for you! Let me warn you though, this is not a warm-fuzzy film, definitely not a cuddle up and laugh and cry flick. I know, I’m late to the party but last night I finally watched the suspenseful action-flick Looper (DVD) starring Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Bruce Willis, Emily Blunt and Jeff Daniels.

At the risk of giving readers plenty of fodder to tease me with, I’ll tell you this: I had some trouble keeping up with the plot line of this film in the beginning. Thankfully, I wasn’t watching alone and my roommate and her friend caught on fast. This being said, it’s probably in your best interest to get an actual description of the plot from someone else. (Though the more I read, it seems I wasn’t the only one befuddled by the mechanics of it all.) Hey, time travel always makes things more complicated right?! Because of this,  I’ll share with you an excerpt from Fandango’s synopsis of Looper from Jason Buchanan:

In the year 2047 time travel has yet to be invented. Thirty years later, however, it has. Though immediately outlawed, time-travel technology is quickly appropriated by the mob, and used to cleanly dispose of anyone deemed a threat. The process is simple: When the mob wants someone to disappear, they simply send them back to the year 2047, where an assassin known as a “looper” quickly carries out the hit, and disposes of the body. Joe Simmons (Gordon-Levitt) is one of the most respected loopers around. Each kill earns him a big payday, and he’s got big plans to retire to France. Then, one day, as Joe patiently awaits the appearance of his next target near the edge of a remote corn field, he’s shocked to come face-to-face with…

I intentionally cut it short to leave an aura of mystery to the film if you haven’t seen it yet, didn’t talk to anyone about it, and haven’t watched the trailer (or can’t remember.) I find some people don’t want to know what they’re about to see when they start a new movie. So if that’s you, maybe stop reading now. If not, continue on.

I still don’t like to reveal whole story lines on here, but if you have already watched Looper then I’ve got a question for you. Am I the only one who was vividly reminded of the 90’s Kevin Costner flick A Perfect World? Maybe it’s just me, but I really wanna know. (Also, half the time no one knows what I’m talking about when I bring up A Perfect World. We watched it in Ms.Anderson’s 9th grade health class. I can even tell you who I was sitting next to, and the notes that got passed to me that day. Another story for another day.) It’s that age old question of what it means to be the “bad guy,” and if there is any justification or validation in killing people who are going to do “bad things.” Does that make the new killer a bad guy or a good guy? Yeah, all so very philosophical and multi-layered. Of course JGL was in the mind-bender (that I LOVED by the way) Inception and I think this film had a similar demeanor about it, just with more violence and without the dream sequences. I know this won’t come as a surprise to you guys but there were definitely several scenes I had to peek through my fingers to see. I squealed a few times, and I wondered if I’d be able to handle the tension and the conflicting situations involving children. All in all though I’d say this was definitely an interesting watch!

If you don’t mind some mild plot spoilers, here’s the Looper trailer:

Leave a Comment

