Listen

Listen to This: “Keep the Car Running”

Living in North Florida with this whole climate change, it’s been a long time since I’ve woken up to ice covering my car. I forgot what a chore it is to get out the scraper, and leave the car running to defrost. Every time I stand in the driveway with my hands shaking in the cold air, I think of high school and how every time it got cold enough my dad fixed up my car before it was time for me to go to school. Needless to say I was supremely late to work this morning, but hey it’s Friday! As I sat at the kitchen counter, eating some cereal (Cheerio’s Honey Nut Medley – not as good as I thought it’d be) I realized I was singing “Keep the Car Running” by Arcade Fire in my head. How fitting. Anyway, this is a throwback to my teenage years. I remember it being wedged between some of my “pop-punk” favorites on some mixed CDs. If you’re not familiar with it, check it out. Neon Bible is a pretty great album! This video is pretty awesome, but I have a hard time listening to this song in a desk chair. It makes me wanna blast it when I’m driving down the highway, or you know just twirling around my room working on a project. Basically it’s impossible for me to sit still while listening to this song.

“There’s a weight that’s pressing down
Late at night you can hear the sound”

3 thoughts on “Listen to This: “Keep the Car Running””

  1. One of my favorite songs/albums of all time. Have you seen their performance on Austin City Limits? It’s pretty freakin’ legit.

Leave a Comment

