Listen, Throwback Thursday

Throwback Thursday, Listen to This: “Maps”

So, I know I’ve fallen off the grid (of blogging,) again. It’s been a busy week over here in my world, at least during the hours I typically blog. But hey I figured I’d drop by for a simple post, and share the other song that’s been on my mind for a Throwback Thursday lately. “Maps” by the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. Karen O makes it seem so simple to sing this one, as she belts it out all raw and confident. If you’ve ever attempted to sing along on Rock Band than maybe you know it’s not that easy? She’s talented, really talented. Plus, I feel like this song has the ability to hit that emotional chord like Adele’s “Someone Like You.” Maybe that’s just me? I always find myself singing along (albeit horribly,) and it’s like BAM! A wave of feelings. Lyrically this is a non-complex song, but somehow it just feels like it says a lot. Plus, that guitar opening? Gah. Just…incredible. This song came out when I was in high school, when I was sixteen actually and it was definitely a tune you put on repeat. It always got turned up real loud in the car, and we blared it from the speakers at friends houses while we sat in a circle on the floor, doing nothing after school. (Except you know, obsessing over music and getting into heated debates.)

“Wait! They don’t love you like I love you…”

Leave a Comment

