Watch This

Watch This: Win Win

Sometimes, I get in a groove of watching several movies in a row that I really, really enjoy. It’s not until I hit a string of ones I really don’t that I realize how spoiled I am. That’s how I felt when I watched Win Win, Midnight in Paris, 50/50, and The Darjeeling Limited. I’ve already mentioned the others, but I saw a trailer for Win Win again the other day and figured I should mentioned how much I appreciated it. Win Win was a 2011 film, and I actually remember it as one of the last trailers I saw when Miracle 5 was still around, but I didn’t make it in time to see it before it was gone. I was excited when I stumbled upon it, but didn’t really know what to expect. (Have you noticed how I go in pretty blindly to a lot of these?)

This film opened with a scene similar to several of my favorites lately: running. I knew I’d like it from the get go! Second of all, this cast is freakin’ fantastic! Paul Giamatti. Jeffrey Tambor. Bobby Cannavale. Alex Shaffer. And one of my surprising favorites: AMY RYAN! Oh.My.Word. She acted her part, flawlessly in my opinion. Just an impeccable cast I tell you.

Okay, here for the hard part (for me, maybe the confusing part for you.) I have a really hard time describing this movie without revealing important plot details. Like I always say, I don’t want to spoil it for you, so even though this is lame I might have to rely on movie buddy IMDB to help me out here. They’re good with concise description, which is not one of my strong points. Heyyy, I’m even going to shorten their summary to reveal even less (all you spoiler addicts can go check out the long ones!)

Disheartened attorney Mike Flaherty (Giamatti), who moonlights as a high school wrestling coach, stumbles across a star athlete through some questionable business dealings while trying to support his family. (Fox Searchlight)

I was just really impressed with the film’s turn of what could be an extremely dark comedy into meaningful, without being completely heart-wrenching. Every time I started to get sad, (I’m a really sensitive viewer) I found myself laughing out loud moments later. I really enjoyed the cast’s chemistry with one another, their roles were well played – heartfelt, endearing, passionate. I felt the anger, frustration, joy and confusion as we witnessed their joy and struggles. I was so pleasantly surprised by the direction of the film. The relationships were carried through, I didn’t feel cut off in their stories, and when it faded out I didn’t feel jipped (and that’s important compared to how some other films I’ve watched lately are.) It’s a great combination of drama and comedy. If you haven’t seen it, I’d definitely recommend checking out Win Win!

 

Leave a Comment

