Read This, Throwback Thursday

TBT: The Great Gatsby

The last several times my family has gotten together, The Great Gatsby has come up in conversation. The first time I read it was the summer before eleventh grade. It was required reading for Mr.Harper’s AP English class. You know how much I love to read? I almost equally despise required reading. I could pick the same book up off the shelf myself, but if someone else is demanding I read it – in their timeline, and write about it only as they see it? Oh, it makes my insides cringe. I remember the end of summers where I would have to like bar myself in my room for days on end to try and get through the stack of books I’d put off. (Sometimes, my friends would even read them a loud to me, in an effort to get the process over with so we could reconvene our  normal hang out routine (which mostly consisted of laying on the floor listening to awesome music, going thrifting, or swimming, or eating ice cream – you know, important stuff.) I remember sitting in my high school cafeteria, the first week of school where all of the students enrolled in AP English for the year had to take our summer reading test at the same time. I remember staring at that piece of paper thinking, the symbolism behind the green light on the dock?!?! (My other problem with required reading is that typically I speed read and I’m just waiting for the pages I’m holding in my left hand to be a great number more than the ones in my right.) I should interject here and tell you that I’m not THAT horrible with required reading. I absolutely adored To Kill a Mockingbird and The Poisonwood Bible. (Other novels I had an EXTREMELY difficult time with? Heart of Darkness and All the Pretty Horses were some of my hardest ever. I tried to talk to my 9th grade English teacher about Horses and what the heck was going on? But she was at a loss too, and I wondered why the book was even on the list…HOD came back to haunt me in college but then I wasn’t intentionally called upon to talk about something I didn’t know about.)

I gave you all that back story because I felt it’d be dishonest of me to act like I just loved this book the first time around. You should know it was more of an acquired taste. And actually, I can clearly remember the conversation now that I had with Jacki back in the Phi Mu house and she told me, just wait you are going to LOVE IT the second time you read it. Guess what? She was right. (Of course she was right. She was an English major and definitely knows her stuff.) Anyway, the thing is The Great Gatsby has come up in conversation so much lately, it feels like it’s constantly on my mind. From the incredible trailer they’re playing in the theatres now, to flapper fashion shoots, to Fitzgerald in Midnight in Paris – it feels like it’s everywhere. Everyone does some deep thinking in the shower right? This morning I was half awake, and I was thinking about the glitzy parties Gatsby threw. (I don’t know why?) I was thinking about how I’d love to dress up, and drink champagne, and frolic in a grass backyard with jazzy music blasting. But then I thought again, there’s a facade to all of that. (Um, hello – did you read the book?) And I really wouldn’t enjoy the pretentious conversations I’d have to suffer through in order to enjoy the other parts. The grass is always greener right?

The Great Gatsby is so classic, it shouldn’t even be in a “throwback” category, it stands alone in its own space. This product description describes it well, without giving things away or you getting lost in my convoluted memories and rambling:

This exemplary novel of the Jazz Age has been acclaimed by generations of readers. The story of the fabulously wealthy Jay Gatsby and his love for the beautiful Daisy Buchanan, of lavish parties on Long Island at a time when The New York Times noted “gin was the national drink and sex the national obsession,” it is an exquisitely crafted tale of America in the 1920s. (Amazon.)

 

How long have we been waiting for this movie? Seriously, it feels like forever. It was slated for release last year, but postponed (I read somewhere so that it wouldn’t be contending for last year’s Academy Awards? But you can’t believe everything you read.) Either way – it’s finally coming. You don’t have to ask where I’m gonna be come May! Luckily,  you have a few months so if this novel wasn’t ever on your required reading list, or you didn’t pick it up on your own – check it out!

5 thoughts on “TBT: The Great Gatsby”

  1. I am SO excited for this movie. I love Baz Lurhman’s work and am so excited to see his creation of Gatsby’s world! Also one of my favorite book covers of all time. I need to get on my reread of the book before it comes out.

    Two Gatsby related things to share:
    1) Kate Beaton’s Gatsby comics..so funny 🙂 http://harkavagrant.com/index.php?id=259

    2) I know you’re a John Green fan, have you seen his Crash Course channel on YouTube? They covered The Great Gatsby! Pretty cool!!

    1. Oh my word, right?! I love his work too, and I feel like they’ve been teasing us long enough! Agreed about the book cover, I was going to go off about that but I was like ohh I’ll lose people in this tangent haha. I have a couple of copies with this cover, but then at a library book sale I found a reeeally old copy with the straight blue cover (like Out of Print uses for their stuff?) Love. I’m gonna have to go check out those comics because I have plenty of time right now haha. Annnd yes you know my JG love! I did see that Crash Course episode but I’ll have to go watch it again because I can never get enough John Green!

  2. I am the same way – I’ve ALWAYS loved reading, but I did NOT always love the books we were made to read in school. I wasn’t a huge fan of The Great Gatsby as a 10th grader (I think that’s when we read it), but I picked it up again a couple years ago and absolutely loved it. I can’t wait for this movie (especially since it’s Leo!).

    1. I’m glad I’m not the only one. I was like wow, I sound horrible haha but being forced to do anything isn’t really that fun. Isn’t it funny how different it is a few years later? (Except I definitely cannot say the same for Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad that one just can not win me over.) Speaking of Leo I just saw a throwback audition of his from back in the teen years (like Growing Pains age) on the Today Show this morning. It’s so interesting to see how his career has progressed over time! Can’t wait to see him in this role either 🙂

      1. I’m a GMA girl so I missed that! But I’ll be googling that audition for sure. He really has had quite a career already.

Leave a Comment

