Listen, Throwback Thursday

TBT Listen to This: “My Sweet Fracture”

Saves the Day are definitely one of my ultimate throwback bands. They make me think of high school, specifically sophomore year. Maybe freshman? I think of yearbook class. I think of mixed CDs from my penpal. I think of some of my friends in the drama department. I think of late night drives to Ocala. I think of hanging out in parking lots and I think of what heart to hearts feel like when you’re fifteen or sixteen. One of my favorite quotes happens to come from this song, “My Sweet Fracture”

And hey, I choose my company
by the beating of their hearts
Not the swelling of their heads

I know, they sound a little angry. They’ve got that young pop-punk kind of sound going on, but it’s one of the things I find so endearing about the band. This is one of those sweet gems that came up as I’ve been listening to my old iPod lately. A lot of the music on there is from my teen years and there is so much nostalgia in every note. If you haven’t heard it before (or you love it and it hits a sweet memory spot for you too) and you don’t mind a few not-so-nice words, give it a listen:

2 thoughts on “TBT Listen to This: “My Sweet Fracture””

    1. Lindsay! πŸ™‚ I’m glad Saves the Day made the social media blackout cut πŸ˜‰ but really – seriously, I think you’re probably right. I could totally see us having girl talks in high school with all this great music on in the background πŸ™‚

Leave a Comment

