Watch This

Watch This: The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

This week I finally got the chance to watch The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. Tallahassee actually had this film in the theatre for a little bit back when it was first released, so it’s my own fault for missing out but now that it’s on DVD (and it caught my eye in the new films section at the library) I jumped on the chance. My house mate Alex had already seen it before, but she told me how cute it was a few times and gladly watched it again on a rainy Wednesday night.

My word. I had high expectations for this film, and I was not disappointed in the slightest. It really is top notch. I think they found the perfect balance of heartwarming and reality. It really felt uplifting. I didn’t even cry! (Though there were some moments where I teared up.) I laughed several times throughout the film, and it was one of those where I could feel a slap happy smile spread across my face. Basically this is a story of a random group of people who all travel to a “resort” in India to spend their retirement. The random group who start as strangers, soon become friends and an eclectic family of sorts.

The cast is just fantastic and won me over in the opening scenes. The scenery is beautiful. There isn’t one thing I didn’t like about the movie. (Although, at one point when Evelyn and Douglas are walking through the city streets together at night, it occurred to me how wonderful it would have been for this to be a TV show instead and each person’s story it’s own little episodes if only for the fact that I didn’t want it to end yet!)

The film was based on a novel by the same name written by Deborah Moggach, which probably needs to go on my to-be-read list. Why this didn’t get nominated for more awards, I’ll never know. But me oh my, it’d be foolish of me not to recommend it to you! I thoroughly enjoyed seeing a softer side of Bill Nighy, and Tom Wilkinson reeled me in the moment he told the boy in the street how to better his cricket batting. Maggie Smith is a delight in everything I watch her in, and this wasn’t any different! Also might I add that Dev Patel (Slumdog Millionaire) lit up the screen in all of his scenes – his youthful energy was a joy and his optimism and gentleness was inspiring. The film vaguely reminded me of Love Actually in the way the characters stories overlapped and intertwined. I am a sucker for those type of scripts! If you’ve yet to experience this great film, I highly recommend you check it out this weekend!

3 thoughts on “Watch This: The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel”

  1. I had heard mixed things – but if you say it’s good, surey it is! I have to see this.

    1. I just…really needed to see something that didn’t break my heart in two. Something uplifting, but realistic, something that would make me laugh and smile but also had a depth to it – this covered all those!

Leave a Comment

