Listen, Throwback Thursday

Throwback Thursday: “Take a Chance On Me”

If you’re a TODAY show fan than you might’ve noticed yesterday when Natalie Morales (DREAM JOB, Hmmm?!) did the feature on the new ABBA Museum that opened in Sweden. I for one am a huge ABBA fan. Love. Them. I’ll even let you in on a secret that should make me embarrassed, but I’m kind of over it now. When I was in elementary school I called them “A-B-B-A” out loud. No lie. (I of course being born in 1987 had the lovely experience of also falling for the “new ABBA generation” pop band A*Teens, as well.) They’re connected to plenty of fabulous memories. The summer my mom had a class reunion and we stayed in a beach house and her best friend babysat. She let me blast ABBA in the living room and we danced around and then went out on the beach twirling and star gazing. Or the number of times me and my silly girlfriends belted out “Dancing Queen” over the summers, or the nights they were our soundtrack to hottub soaking and whispering secrets. Yeah, we were strange birds. (Why did I use past tense there? Nothing has changed.) Then when I was in college and Lizzi and I roomed together in London, ABBA’s greatest hits album became the soundtrack to our mornings. (Occasionally rotated with the Across the Universe soundtrack.) Then…we had the divine experience of attending MAMA MIA! I was on…well, I’d say cloud nine but it was more like cloud 9,000. Most of the summer we spent our nights gallivanting on escalators singing along to all the ABBA songs stuck in our head. (Especially at the Waterloo station.) Then I came back to Florida just in time for my mom and I to go see Mama Mia in theatres. There was this scene from that great show on The WB called Young Americans and they used “Fernando” and I thought it was the coolest thing ever. Anyway. I am a big fan. I love all of their songs. Every time I try to narrow it down, I start off with like three and then the list just gets out of control.

I mean, talk about throwback! This video is from 1977. Seriously. Let’s not mention how I decided what song to share with you today, but you really can’t go wrong with any choice so I’ll give you “Take a Chance On Me.”

“If you change your mind, I’m the first in line…”

Leave a Comment

