Throwback Thursday, Watch This

Throwback Thursday, Watch This: “The Parent Trap” (LiLo version)

Last night at the gym, “L-O-V-E” came on my Maroon 5 Pandora station. (Great mix right? I know!) It was a track from the epic 1998 version of Disney’s The Parent Trap. If this film doesn’t hold dear childhood memories for you, I suggest you go watch it as soon as possible. Lindssy Lohan was impressive, playing twins Hallie and Annie. Long lost sisters, one from California and one from England who meet at summer camp and realize that the one photograph they each have of the missing parent in their lives, are a perfect match “right down the middle.” Each sister has always longed to know the parent that they don’t live with, so the girls decide to switch places and pretend to be the other one. In the meantime, they also scheme to get their parents back together, so they can be one big happy family. It would be impossible for me to tell you how many times I’ve seen this film. It was somewhat of a ritual for my friend Beth and I to watch it together. Over and over. We knew the awesome handshake, we could recite the words by heart, and the fabulous soundtrack weaved its way through the rest of our awesome tween tunes (we had good taste – so this was sandwiched between The Talking Heads, The Beatles, Crowded House – etc.) Dennis Quaid and Natasha Richardson, (as well as Lisa Ann Walter, Simon Kunz and because she made me dislike her so much – Elaine Hendrix) were all fantastic in their respected roles. Even though this film debuted fifteen years ago (holy cow! I know!) there’s this timeless aspect to it, and every time it comes on TV I can’t help but watch it, it’s too compelling for me to change the channel. This is one of those movies that immediately takes me down memory lane, but also it just makes my heart swell with happiness – there are touching parts, and the humor is good no matter how old you are. It’s safe to say this is one of my favorite movies.

3 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday, Watch This: “The Parent Trap” (LiLo version)”

  1. I can’t even count the many times I’ve watched this film. It was like a ritual with my family, watching this until late at night. My sister and I also knew the handshake and could recite the lines before the actors could get to them. Ahhh, I have this on VHS and sadly my VHS machine broke last month from overuse. I’ll have to download The Parent Trap until I get a new machine. Thanks for the memories!

    1. ahh yay so glad this is a part of your memories as well, it provides good ones! 🙂 And I had it on VHS too, and don’t have a VCR anymore. I need to add the DVD to my collection. Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Comment

