Listen, turn it up tuesday

Turn It Up Tuesday, Listen to This: “Mine Would Be You”

You know how some girls have their weddings planned to a T by the time they’re seventeen and they haven’t even started dating yet? I’m kind of the opposite of that, (though I miiight have a Pinterest board aptly named “Wedding Related Stuff For No Reason.”) Anyway, even still because I love music so much when I hear a really sweet song I tend to think “ohh man that’d make for a good first dance song!” Yeah, I can be pretty sappy like that. The first time I heard Blake Shelton’s “Mine Would Be You” (on the new Based On a True Storyalbum) that’s exactly what I thought. Maybe some of the lines aren’t perfectly suitable for a family gathering, but whatever the sentiment is there. And if I’m perfectly honest, I might indulge in the idea that a piece of me might like to imagine that someday when I hear these lyrics, I’ll have one person in mind and hopefully they’re sitting on the other side of the car from me but not yet – for now, I’ll just enjoy the sweet simplicity and belt it out like I know what that’s like.

“What’s your double dare, your go all in?
The craziest thing you ever did?
Plain as your name in this tattoo
Look on my arm, mine would be you
Mine would be you
Sun keeps shining, back road flying
Singing like crazy fools
Making up our own words
Laughing ’til it hurts
Baby, if I had to choose
My best day ever
My finest hour, my wildest dream come true
Mine would be you?”

I’ll admit I got pretty excited on the drive-in to work this morning when I realized it’s Tuesday and I could share this as my “Turn It Up Tuesday” post for the week. I hope everyone had an absolutely wonderful Memorial Day Weekend, safe & fun times had by all – I know I did! So if you don’t know it yet, I’m telling you – you should. Listen here:

 

Leave a Comment

