Listen

Listen to This: “Do I Wanna Know?”

MegSays has been full of music lately, I know. My brain hasn’t been able to concentrate on reading very much, and I am not looking for a story that’s going to emotionally wreck me right now. I’m in too happy of a place, and I’m generally attracted to dark material in my novels. The last movie I watched was Beginners, and I already shared that with you! If Tallahassee would step up its game, and bring me Before Midnight I’d go watch that, and tell you about it alright? But that’s not the case. SO! I’ve got another song for you.  A friend told me about the Arctic Monkeys “Do I Wanna Know?” this week. Upon first listen I was like yeah, yeah this is a cool song but then…I actually paid attention to the lyrics, and ohmygosh. I’m a little bit obsessed. I don’t even know how many times I’ve listened to it this week? There’s no such thing as too many, but it’s been a lot. We already know I fall in love with about a dozen songs a day, but it doesn’t matter I’m going to share them with you, anyway. That’s what this space is for right? (Sorry, I know that album art is a little suggestive, but it is what it is. It makes me think of the Raw Bar t-shirts from Key West, which makes me think of roadtrips and oysters, and then I’m already somewhere else far away from the song, so I digress.) The Arctic Monkeys have been around for a while, but if you don’t know this song yet, go do yourself a favor annnnd give it a listen!

“Have you no idea that you’re in deep?
I dreamt about you nearly every night this week
How many secrets can you keep?
Cause there’s this tune I found that makes me think of you
somehow and I play it on repeat
Until I fall asleep
Spilling drinks on my settee

Do I wanna know
if this feeling flows both ways?
Sad to see you go
Was sort of hoping that you’d stay
Baby we both know
That the nights were mainly made for saying things that
you can’t say tomorrow day”

Leave a Comment

