Listen, Music Monday

Music Monday, Listen to This: “Gray or Blue”

This song would totally fit the bill for Throwback Thursday, but I love it too much to wait four days to share it with you all. I discovered this little gem from the Mumford & Sons Pandora station. “Gray or Blue” by Jaymay is a perfect “crush” song if you ask me. There’s that innocence and longing, and daydreaming and the dissecting of the little moments that bring you closer to someone that’s always on your mind, all wrapped up into one little song. Plus, her voice is absolutely beautiful. I’d be lying if I told you I didn’t want to sound like this one day. We’ll put this on the “hopefully I can play this on guitar and not sound absolutely ridiculous ONE DAY” list. Also, side note: if I were better about watching traditional rom-coms than I could tell you, ohhh yeah I loved that song when it was in Serendipity, but I cannot. I know, I’ve been a bit of a sap lately, but this is a sweet song. Just look at these lyrics:

I feel so helpless now
My guitar is not around
And I’m struggling with the xylophone
To make these feelings sound
And I’m remembering you singing
And bringin’ you to life
It’s raining out the window
And today it looks like night

You haven’t written to me in a week
I’m wondering why that is
Are you too nervous to be lovers
Friendship’s ruined with just one kiss?
I watched you very closely, I saw you look away
Your eyes are either gray or blue
I’m never close enough to say

Leave a Comment

