Listen, Throwback Thursday

Throwback Thursday, Listen to This: “You Gotta Be”

Now, this is a real throwback. Right before I got out of my car this morning Des’ree “You Gotta Be” came on the radio. I was seven when this song came out in 1994. This is one of those – you hear it at school dances, you hear it on the radio, they play it during birthday parties at the roller rink, you make up dances to it with your girlfriends at sleepovers. But even with all of those younger year associations, it’s basically impossible not to sing-a-long when it comes on the radio. It’s just one of those jams! I was like hey, combine this with my oddly cool, “July feels like fall morning in Florida” run under cotton candy skies, and today is definitely going to be a good day. Then I knew I had to send the positive vibes your way as well, by sharing it this morning. Some Google searching brought up some controversy over the artist (just YouTube people arguing,) but seriously I don’t even feel like going there today – let’s just be happy with the tune and move on with our days, am I right? This might be one of my cheesiest posts yet, but c’mon there’s something kind of awesome about this one isn’t there?

You gotta be
You gotta be bad, you gotta be bold, you gotta be wiser
You gotta be hard, you gotta be tough, you gotta be stronger
You gotta be cool, you gotta be calm, you gotta stay together
All I know, all I know, love will save the day

1 thought on “Throwback Thursday, Listen to This: “You Gotta Be””

Leave a Comment

