Watch This

Watch This: OITNB

OK. Listen up! I’ve mentioned this multiple times, and if this is the only post you pay attention to all year long – I’m telling you: don’t deprive yourselves. When I say, WATCH THIS, just do it. Orange Is The New Black is one of the best things to happen to entertainment and creative storytelling in a long, long time. Jenji Kohan (the creator of Weeds) brought us this firecracker of a show, a Netflix original series. (Yeah. Seriously.) The story is based off of the memoirs of Piper, played by Taylor Schilling, (Kerman in real life Chapman on the show,) your normal waspy girl leading a normal-ish life. Engaged to her writer boyfriend Larry, making fancy soaps with her pregnant best friend Polly, – then bam! Going to prison to serve time for fifteen months. She got busted for being an accomplice to an international drug ring ten years prior with her then girlfriend Alex. That’s enough background info, just watch it for yourself. The series takes you through her life behind bars in a women’s prison in upstate New York. You’ll recognize some of the actors (Jason Biggs (American Pie,) Laura Prepon (That 70s Show,) Natasha Lyonne, Taryn Manning, etc.) but the new comers are just incredible as well. I’m telling you, Kohan is one of the most genius story tellers of our generation, and I am just constantly amazed by her craft – she out did herself this time. There are thirteen episodes in season one. We’ve got a year until season two comes out. I don’t know how I didn’t watch all the episodes in 48 hours. (This is a seriously addicting show.) I tried to be mature about it, show some self restraint and spread them out a little. I got through a few weeks, and I just couldn’t do it anymore, impatience got the best of me. I had to know how the season ended so I watched the last few all in a row. Of course, not without some tears. You’re gonna get sucked into these stories. One of the coolest things about OITNB is that throughout each episode, we get a flashback into a different woman’s life. You get to see what they were like before they wound up in prison – what they were passionate about, what they struggled with, the people they left behind. It’s impossible not to feel a tug on your heartstrings. As intense, raw, and emotional as the show can be, it’s also laugh-out-loud slide splitting hilarious. Sometimes, I’d have to pause or rewind because I’d miss some great dialogue while my eyes were watering from laughing so hard. You’ll cringe at the slimy guards, and you’ll root for these women as they band together to help each other get through the days. I’m cutting myself short because I don’t want to spoil any of it, I would way rather you just go ahead and check it out NOW!

If you don’t have Netflix, annoy the heck out of a friend who does. Show up at their house and demand to have a marathon together. (Make sure it’s a close friend because that’s one side note, OITNB is definitely for mature audiences. It can get a little graphic at times. To be expected with the content, but still.) So yeah, you guys – this is basically my public service announcement, my plea, for you to please check out this incredible show. My parents, my little sister, my best friend, I’m working on getting everyone hooked because it is just that good. Don’t miss out! Here’s a little teaser to the season:

PS: Another perk, of course the music is awesome and the opening track is a Regina Spektor song. Convinced already?!

Leave a Comment

