Throwback Thursday, Watch This

Throwback Thursday, Watch This: Adventureland

I’ll say, though the trailer enticed me when it was first released I think I originally had an aversion to watching Adventureland because of Kristen Stewart. I know, I should apologize because that’s kind of unfair, but it’s the truth. Anyway, I was looking for something to watch after I flew through Orange is The New Black and someone suggested Adventureland, and it was on Netflix so I figured why not? And I was glad I watched it. The music is good, it made me laugh, the cast is great and it’s pretty well written. It’s kind of what I thought Skateland was going to be like, actually.

Jesse Eisenberg plays James, a recent college grad who’s back at his parents house for the summer. Or so he thinks. The plan was to move to New York with his college roommate, and attend journalism school at Columbia. That was until his parents aren’t able to hold up their end of the deal, anymore. So, James gets his first job at the local amusement park, Adventureland. He spends his days running the games booths. He makes some new friends, goes to some parties, and saves some cash. All in all, though – this is a coming of age story. And one done right, at that. (Not to mention the 80’s music soundtrack is so fitting.) James is awkward, but endearing and this cast will have you laughing. If you haven’t watched Adventureland yet, check it out. It was a good light hearted alternative to some of the intense films I’ve seen recently.

Check out the “Official Trailer”:

Leave a Comment

