Listen

Listen to This: “Ribs”

Alright. I know it’s wrong to be jealous of anyone. I also know it’s extra wrong to be envious of a sixteen year old, but seriously? Lorde is so talented, I can’t even handle it. I’m sure you’ve heard “Royals” on the radio, or in a store, or a restaurant, or SOMEWHERE while you were out by now. Her full album, Pure Heroinewas finally released this week and I just cannot get enough. One of my favorite tracks from the record is “Ribs.” Like my friend Tasha said, how can you not love a song that references Lover’s Spit? (yes, exactly!) Then though, there’s also the fact that I am perpetually a teenger emotionally within my twenty-five year old body so I hear lyrics like:

You’re the only friend I need (You’re the only friend I need)
Sharing beds like little kids (Sharing beds like little kids)
We’ll laugh until our ribs get tired (We’ll laugh until our ribs get tired)
But that will never be enough (but that will never be enough)

and I think bike rides and crushes and all the things that went along with my own adolescence, and it just makes me have an extra affinity for the music. It’s so refreshing to hear some realistic music, (shh, I can relate to a sixteen year old girl if I want.) All of her songs just sound like they come from an honest place, and that’s so – it’s something to appreciate, right now.

This girl has so much talent, so much energy, so much potential. I can’t wait to see what else she does with her career. And I for one would love to see her live at some point. (Bonnaroo 2014, I’m looking at you!) If you haven’t listened yet, check her out. Seriously. I dare you not to get her songs stuck in your head, (and I mean that in the best way!)

Leave a Comment

