Read This

Read This: “Criminal”

I hope everyone had a great weekend! Mine went pretty well, a good balance of work and play. (Play really just means riding my bike, swimming, cooking, and watching lots of Newsroom!) I was thinking about what I should fill you all in on this week, and I remembered that I hadn’t mentioned reading Terra Elan McVoy’s latest novel Criminal.

I’ve mentioned McVoy’s work in the past (Pure, The Summer of Firsts and Lasts, Being Friends with Boys, etc.) because I’ve been a fan of her writing for a long time. Ever since I picked up a signed copy of Pure at the (now extinct) Borders in Tallahassee, I was hooked. It also helps keep my “dream big” creative juices flowing, knowing she went to high school here. And she does so many cool things – runs a bookstore, used to be in charge of the Decatur Book Festival, all kinds of stuff. Anyway, though I’ve loved all of her novels leading up to this one – I have to say she was right when she said this one is different. And it is, very different. There’s a kind of edge, a little bit of grit to Criminal. Nikki is naive, but she has a good heart. I think McVoy did a good job telling a complicated story, and she did it in the way where you can sympathize with the character, root for her even, where if you were seeing the situation from the outside you might not react so nicely. Nikki made some stupid decisions, but she was blinded by love. Thankfully, she’s really introspective and she’s got some really great people in her life that kind of make up for the rotten ones.

Don’t expect summer camp, puppy love, or sisterly bonding out of McVoy’s latest but it’s a thrilling read in its own right. Check it out!

Leave a Comment

