Listen

Listen to This: “In Your Atmosphere”

I have to say, I think “In Your Atmosphere” might be one of John Mayer’s most under-rated songs. I have this live version on my phone from the Live at the Nokia Theatre album. I was listening this morning in the gym, and instead of singing along (because I try not to do that in the gym – I think it’s weird and distracting,) and it kind of stopped me in my tracks.

I mean, honestly…

“I don’t think I’m gonna go to LA anymore
I don’t know what its like to land and not race t0 your door
I don’t think I’m gonna go to LA anymore” 

Have truer words been sung? You know, those times in life where “home” becomes less about a place, and more about a person, and when you return to somewhere it’s not about walking to your own doorstep, or your head hitting your pillow, but walking into the arms of someone who’s face replaced whatever you’d considered home up until then? And I guess sometimes those things last, and sometimes they don’t. And I think the energy he sings this song with, that urgency and the emotion? It captures those times. And sure maybe I’m wrong, but that’s what I always get out of it. And I love the simplicity in the truth.

There at the end he goes into:

“Wherever I go, Whatever I do
I wonder where I am in my relationship to you
Wherever you go, Wherever you are
I watch that pretty life play out in pictures from afar”

And maybe he means when you’re dating a celebrity you can see their lives play out in magazines. Then again though, think about our generation…we might not have talked to someone in person in the past eight years, and we could still see pictures of their lives on Facebook. Their weddings, children, breakups, promotions, birthdays – so much of it is displayed for all to see. We can watch it unfold right in front of us.

Not everyone’s a Mayer fan, but if you haven’t listened to this song, or you’re in need of a reminder of what a great one it is, go give it a listen.

 

Leave a Comment

