Read This

Turn the Page Tuesday, Read This: “Where’d You Go Bernadette”

I know I’m behind the times on this one, but oh my goodness! When I saw that Where’d You Go Bernadette was finally available at my local library I had to check it out, and bring it with me to my parents for some time off at the beach over the 4th of July weekend. What a perfect beach read, but also what a perfect ANYWHERE read! I laughed, I teared up, I throughly enjoyed the witty, dry humor of Maria Semple. The writing style reminded me of a Wes Anderson film, and I was in love with the alternating perspectives revealed in e-mails, memos, and various other forms of correspondence.

I’m awful at describing something I love without getting carried away, and trying to hide the surprises, but essentially the story involves teenage Bee, her architect mom, her dad who works for Microsoft, a slew of crazy private school mothers and an extremely entertaining collection of other characters living in Seattle. Instead of giving away exciting plot points, I’d rather just convey my affection for this book by explaining that I wasn’t even halfway through when I declared it must be added to my favorites list. It’s that good. I hadn’t felt like I’d stumbled upon a creative piece of work so refreshing in quite some time. Some authors have a strange condescending sort of air to their writing, while Semple never seemed to discredit her audience.

If you’ve noticed this book on display in a variety of places, or heard the buzz, or your friends have recommended it – there’s a reason for it. It’s one of the best titles I’ve read this year. If you haven’t read it yet, do yourself a favor and get on that as soon as possible!

Leave a Comment

