Listen

Meg Says, Listen to This: “St.Jude”

I had the pleasure of seeing Florence and the Machine perform live at Bonnaroo a few weeks ago. I’ve been listening to them for a while, but I was blown away by what an incredible experience the live show was. Florence Welch just has such an amazing, genuine intensity about her. I love when artists pour their everything into a show, and she definitely seemed to do so. Their set was only about an hour, (I personally think she should totally have a longer scheduled set in the future – just sayin’) but oh my goodness that hour was full of such passionate, pure music. Her voice is something to be marveled at. Since the festival, I’ve had a heavy rotation of several artists on repeat – Dawes, Kacey Musgraves, and Florence and the Machine have been the top ones lately. There’s no way I could ever pick a favorite song, but I’d like to share “St.Jude” from her most recent album How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful with you today. Her lyrics speak to me from each track, but something different came over me the first time I really listened:

And I’m learning, so I’m leaving
And even though I’m grieving
I’m trying to find the meaning
Let loss reveal it

And “maybe I’ve always been more comfortable in chaos” because maybe I have. I read this really interesting interview with her from The Guardian that shed a lot of insight on her life. I think a lot of people can probably relate to the emotions she expresses there. Anyway ramble ramble about how absolutely fabulous Florence Welch is, now time for some music (and a stunning work of visual art!)

Leave a Comment

