meg says watch this

Meg Says Watch This: Before I Disappear

I’m one of those Netflix viewers who ends up watching several shows or movies because of one actor who is the common link. Most recently, after watching several (and I mean several) episodes of the CW show The Vampire Diaries I was intrigued by Paul Wesley, so when Before I Disappear was a suggested movie, I had to check it out! Now be aware, Wesley plays a small part in this film, but that shouldn’t deter you from watching. Before I Disappear is dark, somewhat suspenseful, but it also had this hint of (don’t think I’m crazy but…) heart-warming appeal. The story begins (well, almost begins – you’ll see) with twenty-something, troubled Richie (Shawn Christensen) alone in his apartment, where his suicide attempt is interrupted with a frantic phone call from his estranged sister, Maggie (Emmy Rossum.) Maggie demands Richie pick up his niece Sophia (Fatima Ptacek) from school because she’s “tied up” with something. Richie is obviously not in the right state for such things, but he agrees. Turns out maybe that’s all Richie needed – forming an unexpected bond with his determined, sweet little 11 year old niece. The film takes place over one night; not void of: hallucinations, a drug overdose, angry drug lords, fight scenes and high drama. I don’t want to ruin anything, so I won’t look for a clip but I will say there’s a scene filmed in the bowling alley (you’ll know which one I mean) and the musical sequence and the innocence captured in those moments is such a beautiful, shining moment of this film. Seriously, I think it’s one of the best 45 seconds or so, I’ve seen in a film in a long time. It nestles in, to inspire some hope for the hopeless – much like Sophia’s character herself. The night is much more than just an adventure in babysitting for Sophie and Richie. While this isn’t one of those films that I’ll end up watching several times over the years, it is worth watching because it was an interesting piece of art. And because you’re able to build an attachment to the characters throughout the story – you’re rooting for them, hoping for a happy ending. Think you wanna check it out? Watch the trailer to see what I’m talking about:

Leave a Comment

