meg says listen to this

Meg Says, Listen to This: “Split Screen Sadness”

Over the past few months, I’ve found myself returning again and again to the ever amazing catalog of John Mayer’s music. I’ve been a fan since my middle school nights spent falling asleep to the sounds of Room for Squares. Mayer has had an interesting evolution of style over the years, but he never loses that touch of such deep emotional connection, a mastermind of lyrical poetry, and awe-inspiring guitar skills. I’m always waiting in anticipation for whatever soul stirring album he’ll put out next, but in the meantime, I fall in love all over again with the old stuff. So, today’s a day I’m sharing a throwback. One song I keep coming back to is “Split Screen Sadness” from the Heavier Things album. I know I have a habit of sharing favorite lines from songs here, but this one is so hard to pick a few. The WHOLE song has some of my favorite lyrics of Mayer’s. The energy in this song is so raw and real. And in a way only John Mayer can do – he finds a way to encapsulate what so many of us are feeling post break-up. That indecision and lingering compulsion to call them. Or the realization that it wasn’t really either person’s fault (it really is so much harder when there’s no one to blame.) Then you’re just left with that heavy sadness. If I force myself to be conclusive in picking something, I’ll leave you with this because some days when the words resonate in my mind I feel as if I wrote them myself.

“I called because I just
Need to feel you on the line
Don’t hang up this time
And I know it was me who called it over but
I still wish you’d fought me ’til your dying day
Don’t let me get away”

If this song passed you by somehow the first time around, I recommend giving it a listen now:

Leave a Comment

