meg says listen to this

Meg Says Listen to This: “Coming Down”

I have a bit of an obsession with television music supervisors. As in, I think they hold the coolest jobs ever and perhaps it’s an idealistic dream job of mine. One music supervisor I’ve come to particularly admire is Chris Mollere. I mean, I don’t know how long it would’ve taken me to discover “The Alchemy Between Us” if he hadn’t snuck it in during a pivotal episode of the ended too soon, Kyle XY. He’s the music supervisor for some of the best shows on TV right now: Pretty Little Liars, Chasing Life, The Originals and another old favorite of mine Greek. More recently I’ve admired his work on The CW’s The Vampire Diaries. The other day, I was re-watching some season five episodes over at the neighbor’s house, and for some reason it was the first time that the Dum Dum Girls song “Coming Down” jumped out at me. I don’t know how I missed it the first time, maybe I was over thinking the story line and distracted, but the second time I watched the fifth episode it really struck me. I guess you could say I became a little entranced by it, and I don’t know how many times I played the song on repeat that week. Something about the sound, dreamy and ethereal is somewhat reminiscent of Mazzy Star in my mind. Some people don’t like when artists remind them of someone else, but I say “yes, please. Turn it up!” This song feels like a time machine, to another place, or a moment in memory. And I’m sure it’s different for every listener, as listening experiences should be – but I think it’d be near impossible not to have an inkling of an emotional connection to this song. If you haven’t heard it yet, check out the official music video here:

Leave a Comment

