meg says listen to this, Uncategorized

Meg Says Listen to This: Dashboard Confessional throwbacks

A few weeks ago I went to see the Taste of Chaos tour with some friends. That night brought on an onslaught of memories to my days and nights of teenage angst. Dashboard Confessional headlined. It’s not the first time I’d seen Chris Carabba preform, but I have to say he is really on his game these days. He transitioned from one song to the next and fit so many in, I was shocked. I loved that he went back to his first albums, and really got into the old stuff. The little emo kid inside of me was having a time warp party.
The lawn was closed, so we were all upgraded to seats. Our gang took over a center row, and while we waited for the show to start we reminisced about our younger years listening to these bands. I don’t think I quite realized, up until that moment, how utterly connected everyone sitting in that amphitheater was – in an invisible way. As we shared stories I found so many of us were those emotionally sensitive kids, going through a really hard time in our teenage years. These songs were the soundtracks to each of us holed up in our rooms, or awake in the middle of the night thinking about someone across town. I remember how desperately sad I was at some of my lowest points – the kind that’s hard to see around, the kind that makes you doubt there’s a time ahead of you where you won’t feel like that. As I looked around me at all the people singing their hearts out along to these songs. Lyrics we hadn’t sang in years, readily available in our minds- I realized something that gave me a shiver. All of us who’d hit those low points, who knows what happened over the last 15 years but we’d made it. Here we were, in a different spiral of days. And I smiled because I should always remember the present moment isn’t all we have left. Emotions are ephemeral (an old favorite vocab word), life keeps evolving and changing. Even with all that nostalgia swirling around, it was impossible not to love every minute. I’ll admit though, there were a few moments where I could feel myself slipping into the feelings associated when I hear these songs. “Ender Will Save Us” and “Best Deceptions” were two of those songs for me. They  just hit just the right spot in my tender heart, and I had to laugh before I cried. If your teenage days lacked the joy of DC as a soundtrack, here’s a listen now:

Leave a Comment

