meg says watch this

Meg Says Watch This: Aziz Ansari

I don’t know about my readers, but personally – I am profoundly disturbed by current events over here in America. On so many levels. Every day feels like I wake up with baited breath to see what new disgusting news report there is to read about what happened while a lot of us were sleeping. Unfortunately, some of the time I’m awake in the middle of the night and I see it. (I decided to do something (that felt) productive with those insomniac hours and signed petitions, and called survey lines, and sent my words of displeasure to our senators. Stay informed.) Anyway, I think we have an obligation and duty as citizens to pay attention to what’s happening right now, to speak out when something is wrong (there’s a difference in disagreeing with someone about something, and lies, hate, and an attempt to silence people and stop the spread of fact-based information.) Who knew that in 2017 we would be waking up to “alternative facts” – we cannot let this become the “new normal” in this strange, bizarre alternate reality we’ve found ourselves in – which is unfortunately the only reality we have. Let’s call alternative facts what they really are by the way: LIES.

Okay, enough of my rant – my point of today’s post is that while we need to stay informed, and not turn our heads because the absurdity is overwhelming, I wholeheartedly believe we also need to give ourselves breaks from this as well. (Would we not lose our minds if we didn’t?) For me the main outlets that comes from, other than conversation, and getting together with friends when I can? Reading, music, movies, and finding material that makes me laugh. I fell asleep listening to the Arctic Monkeys the other night, after I watched a few episodes of re-runs of The Office and Parks and Rec. Both of these shows make me laugh until my eyes tear up. They’re witty, they’re well-written, the acting is fantastic, and they’re real. The laughter is a temporary escape, but a healthy one.

You know who else makes me laugh? Aziz Ansari. Whether it’s in his own show, Master of None or on Parks and Rec, or watching his standup comedy, or reading Modern Romance, or listening to a podcast he’s featured on he always makes me laugh. Not only is Ansari hilarious, but he’s brilliant. I think some people underestimate him, but read a chapter of his book and tell me otherwise.

Last weekend Aziz Ansari hosted SNL for the first time. The opening dialogue was insightful, but humorous. I think we can agree that sometimes, you have to laugh so you don’t cry. Like always, Ansari had me in stitches. See the clip below, and if not that – at least check out his book, or other work- I hope his brings you as much enjoyment as it’s brought me.

Leave a Comment

