meg says listen to this

Meg Says Listen to This: February Seven

Today is February 7th, so I just had to share this song with you. It’s called “February 7” by The Avett Brothers. I love when songs correlate to specific dates, and I feel like there’s this unwritten rule to listen to them on those days as some sort of celebration. (Like Jimmy Eat World’s 12.23.95 or Death Cab for Cutie’s Summer Skin.) I love all their songs, but this one is especially great. Lately I’ve had strange sleeping patterns and I find myself routinely awake from 3-5 am. Every time as I count backwards, or try to think happy thoughts, or anything to lull myself back to sleep I find myself thinking of this line “There’s no falling back to sleep once you’ve wakened from the dream.” Ain’t that the truth though? Another favorite is “I went on the search for something real, traded what I know for how I feel.”  As a person completely ruled by my emotions, that line speaks to me every time. I know this song means a lot of different things to a lot of different people, which is great because isn’t that the beauty of music? Anyway, check it out.

Leave a Comment

