meg says listen to this

Meg Says Listen to This: “Feb. 20, 2000”

I don’t normally post “Listen to This” back to back, but if there’s anything I’ve been reminded of lately you can never have too much music in your life. (I guess or books for that matter, but if they’re on your floor that can be a problem. Plus, I can listen to more songs than books I can read in a week, so there will always be a little bit more to share.) Music is such a powerful force. It has healing powers, can be a source of inspiration or motivation, the only tie to some buried memory, the foundation for new memories…it’s all there. Lady Gaga’s Superbowl halftime performance, and last night’s Grammy Awards were just a larger reminder of all the emotional connections we can have through music, and the messages it’s artists carry. I try and space out repeats from artists in my posts  generally too, but even though I shared an Avett Brothers song last weekend, I’m going to share one again today. I was about to type that this doesn’t relate to the Grammy’s in any way, but they actually were nominated for two. Anyway, this past weekend there was an event in Mexico, a little tropical getaway of concerts for days (including other artists like Band of Horses and Brandi Carlile, but I digress. Someone posted a video from the show in Mexico last night, and it was Seth Avett alone on stage with just his guitar and a microphone. He played “Feb. 20, 2000” which is a song off their self-titled debut album. As far as I know, it’s been several years since he played this song. Someone mentioned in the Facebook group that it could’ve been prompted by someone mentioning it in a Q&A session over the weekend. Whatever the reason, it happened and my word…it was something else. Of course I say this living vicariously through a Youtube video, but it felt like someone was squeezing my heart as I listened. It’s just a beautiful song, and I was already crying after watching John Legend perform “God Only Knows” (one of my favorite songs of all time.) But even if you aren’t as emotional as me, I still think there’s something special to see here. I can’t believe the silence of the crowd. What a beautiful, raw moment.

Here are the lyrics (from AZ) if you’re curious:

The whipping of the flag above
It sung me to sleep
And I awoke to feel her hair
Dancing on my cheek

I awoke with the crazy feeling
That I was where I belong
And the sun warmed a remembered love
In my head I heard this song

Don’t leave, you’ve finally made it home
Ain’t this the girl that you wanted all along
I know it hurts to think about everything that went wrong
But I think its over now

And I cant believe how her hands
Still fit perfectly in mine
If I don’t take my chances now
I’ll be searching all my life

Trying to find the feelings that I knew
With this lovely country girl
If those plans are just a young man’s mistake
Then why am I still so set on her

Don’t leave, you’ve finally made it home
Ain’t this the girl that you wanted all along
I know it hurts to think about everything that went wrong
But I think its over now

And more than ever, now I hear
That sweet old voice inside my ear
It says

Don’t leave, you’ve finally made it home
Ain’t this the girl that you wanted all along
I know it hurts to think about everything that went wrong
But I think its over now

Her hair is still soft and sweet
Her eyes still green, her heart still beats
For you and for the lord above
Be done with the pain
And get on with the love

Leave a Comment

