listen to this

Meg Says Listen to This “We Used to Wait”

It’s no secret I love to make mix CD’s. I love to write snail mail. There’s something different about meticulously choosing the songs you’re going to add, the order they’ll play in, the mood progression it creates, when you burn them to a CD, draw up a little “cover,” and stick them in the mail. It’s a world away from handing somebody a flash drive, or sending them a link to something on YouTube and telling them to check it out. (Though I do that on the blog posts here so there’s a convenience factor to it, I know.) There’s something special about a handwritten note, addressed, licking the envelope, putting a stamp on it. I think it takes more thought to write a letter, than it does to send a text message. Of course,  you can’t share something urgent in the mail seeing as how sometimes it takes about a week for a note to make it to someone, but there’s still an art to splashing your heart on a page with ink. There’s something exhilarating (or nerve wracking,) about the anticipation of exciting news, or a delicate apology, a reminder of love, or revealing the longing’s of your heart being discovered in the mailbox. “I’m gonna write a letter to my true love, I’m gonna sign my name.” Every once in a while I like to put “We Used to Wait” by Arcade Fire off their album, The Suburbs on my mixes. I think it encapsulates the beauty of the lost art of letter writing. I guess on a deeper level, the art of a permanent communication, or at least a more intentional version of it. It reminds me how much better is it to know someone took a pen to paper, thoughtfully wrote down their words, maybe you can see the parts where they hesitated and the heights of the letters change, or they got excited and started writing fast and sloppy – it feels so much more intimate to hold that piece of paper in your hand, than to stare at empty words on a screen. The world is constantly changing, but there are some tired and true things that are worth keeping around “Now our lives are changing fast, hope that something pure can last.” I love singing along to this song, but when I let the words sink in it always wrecks me a bit. All that anticipation, and excitement, or sometimes disappointment… “We used to wait, sometimes it never came.” I guess it covers it all.

1 thought on “Meg Says Listen to This “We Used to Wait””

  1. It’s good to know there are others that love this song as much as I do. Your words reflect exactly what I think when I listen to this song, which is also my favorite from The Suburbs (although the whole album is spectacular). Thanks for sharing and hopefully more people will benefit from your post and seek the song out.

Leave a Comment

