listen to this, meg says listen to this

Listen to This: “Counting Blue Cars”

This morning, Dishwalla’s “Counting Blue Cars” came on the radio as I was driving to work, and I just came unglued. I’m a nineties kid. Of course I know the words by heart, and I knew what was coming, but when they got to

“Must have been late after noon
On our way, the sun broke free of the clouds
We count only blue cars skip the cracks in the street
And ask many questions like children often do”

I feel like it broke me a little bit. First of all, this song is a classic, secondly it lends itself to multiple interpretations (existentialism, philosophy, religious connotation, mental health, the whole shebang,) thirdly I think it’s a great jam. Also, sense of “community” has been heavy on my mind and heart and I feel like this song opened the flood gates somehow. I was thinking about our underground networks of communication. I was thinking how sometimes, distance doesn’t matter – kind words from someone near or far, can really touch our soul.. While in some situations, a tight bear hug would be much preferred, it’s no reason to shrug the extension of kindness through communication, or support in the form of an open ear, or someone that just attempts to understand, or those quiet “me toos.” There are so many ways we can reach out and hold someone’s hand in pain, metaphorically and literally. I was thinking about how pain, grief, and uncertainty are like sitting in a dark room.When we let someone in, when we open up, when we ease the weight of some of the load we carry by not hiding all these difficult emotions – it’s like a light coming on in that room. Maybe not the big overhead light flooding the room in a warm glow, but even a little dim nightlight in the corner that helps light the path. Sometimes, you sit in the dark room for so long it’s hard to remember that the light can seep back through the sliver of space under the door. My point is, we all need each other sometimes. Be kind, be open, be compassionate. This song also makes me think about child-like innocence, and that sting in a wound when we’re vulnerable, and also about how easily our perceptions are shaped when we’re young. Be the light in the dark room for each other, okay? And if you don’t know what song I’m rambling on about, or you just want to jam out to it today, listen to this:

Leave a Comment

